Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
DH made this for my Mother's Day dinner and it was FABULOUS!!! Thank you for providing the inspiration to his perfectly executed dinner... I feel so spoiled and loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
AMAZING - but for sure cook the bacon a little before wrapping...even though it shrinks it. It was a little chewy for me...and the stuffing was pretty good, but i'm still rating this a 5 since my crab meat was a couple days old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I can't even begin to describe it. Cooked as ordered, but in a little different order for times sake. Maybe an hour total cooking and prep by this order: sauce, stuffing, steak. It takes awhile to reduce the sauce right, but what a difference. Hands down, this is the best thing I have ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuclear Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This is an awesome recipe and well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is a spectacular recipe. I followed the recipe "to the letter" and I was very happy with the result. The whiskey peppercorn sauce was incredible. Of course, it is essential to start with a really good cut of filet mignon. If you can't get a superior cut of meat, don't waste your time with this recipe. Next time, I will make this without the crab stuffing. I will cook just the filet mignon (and the bacon) and the whiskey peppercorn sauce. The crab adds something to the recipe - but not much. I may even like it better without the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
for the meat we skipped all of thise prep- we sprinkled Montreal steak seasoning and wrapped in bacon and then BBQed. Made the crab mixture as described (from fresh crab legs) and served on top with sauce but had to thicken with flour . Very good - but it was lots of work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
The sauce is wonderful. I thought the crab stuffing was way to salty. Next time I will put a very thin layer in between the steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
DH is allergic to crab but we made the sauce and it is amazing. We serve it with beef on a regular basis and get raves from all who partake. Thanks for a simple to make yet very flavorful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is a great way to make some good filet's!!! We've made it twice now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this for a Valentine's Day dinner. I didn't do the crab stuffing or wrap it in bacon but this was still amazing! We were only making 2 steaks and with the other things going on didn't bother to cut the amount of sauce to make but we used it all up anyway. And I HATE mushrooms. That alone deserves 5 stars. I will definitely make again for special occasions and will try the crab stuffing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States