Crab Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MARYMAYBE
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
My thanks to the writer of this recipe. If I could re-write this I would call it "Stuffed Cajun Sea Chicken" but I want to give credit where credit is due and that is to the idea itself, as with many recipes that are like an artist's canvas. I did make numerous changes. I used fresh crab instead of canned. I added garlic to both sauce and stuffing. I used seasoned bread crumbs. I added minced onion and fresh minced mushrooms to sauce and fresh sliced mushrooms in stuffing which i sauted with the onions and butter. I used Wondra instead of flour. I used Old bay instead of paprika and I used creole seaoning in sauce as well as sprinkled on top before serving. I cut split in side of breast and stuffed instead of pounding and rolling and I cooked for 45 minutes and then an additional 10 uncovered with cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYMAYBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Very good! I made several alterations however....I used clam juice leftover from another recipe instead of chicken broth, seasoned bread crumbs for the saltines, I slit pockets instead of pounding & rolling, used half & half for milk, used Old Bay seasoning instead of salt & upped it to a full tsp., & increased the baking time to 50 minutes since the breast were so much thicker. They looked good enough for company & tasted even more impressive. I served them w/ boiled baby yukon potatoes & a fresh salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This review will be a great example of how it's all about taste buds. I thought this a very average dish, and would rate it three stars. Hubs, on the other hand, said it was darn near a five star dish. The chicken breasts I used were small, so I just pounded them out a bit, spread a double amount of the crab mixture over them and didn't bother to roll them up. I seasoned the chicken first with salt and pepper. I added some extra melted butter and shredded Swiss to the crab mixture, as well as a few tablespoons of finely chopped green and orange bell pepper. I also used fresh mushrooms, chopped, rather than the canned. I skipped the step of heating the mixture through--its stint in the oven takes care of that. To the white sauce I added some white wine, then followed the baking directions as written and came up with beautifully cooked, moist and tender chicken--didn't even need a knife. While I found this short on flavor, hubs said he appreciated the subtleness of flavor. Very reminiscent of Chicken a la King. With our different taste buds and assessments, I arrived at a compromise of four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Great recipe! I also added a couple of cloves of garlic to the onion and used bread crumbs instead of saltines. I added some spice to the white sauce but didn't notice a huge difference. I substituted Old Bay for paprika and used a different white cheese. My husband said to make it anytime. We loved it! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
YUM! This recipe is awesome. It tastes so good and is easy to prepare. I am going to make this a meal that I make often. I used the imitation crab that is frozen and is a great price rather then spending a lot of money since crab has a mellow taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I substituted the mushrooms for red and green bell peppers that I sauted with the onions. It was a nice touch. I also added a little Old Bay seasoning to the crab mixture; it tasted like a crab cake stuffed chicken breast. Thanks for sharing. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This made me a star for the night! It was wonderful and will definitely make this again in the future. Timesaving hint: use one can of cream of chicken soup for the sauce and add milk to thin it since it thickens while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
this was fantastic!! i altered mine a bit from the recipe however. i chopped shrimp instead of crabmeat along with parsley, mushrooms, and green and red peppers in a processor, and i stuffed the mixture along with the onions, and breadcrumbs into slits in the tops of the breasts. i also smeared the rest of the breast with the mixture, and covered with parmesean cheese, instead of swiss - i highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Followed the recipe exactly, WONDERFUL! 5 STAR! It's a keeper, whole family loved it, my husband thought is was fabulous, and my 8 year old and 3 year old enjoyed as well. Has some stuffing left over, sprinkled a little swiss cheese in it and served it with crackers as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was really good! I made it for Valentine's Day and my husband really liked it. I made two chicken breasts and used the extra crab mixture to make stuffed mushrooms! Would definetely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States