Crab Spread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
The cocktail sauce overwhelmed the flavor of the crab. I used less than half of what the recipe called for. The recipe would be good for fake crab, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Unbelievably delicious! I did it backwards - covered the cream cheese with cocktail sauce and then topped with crab meat. This is much better with homemade cocktail sauce (ketchup, horseradish, lemon juice). I serve with Triscuits or Wheat Thins. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Very good! Took it to a get together and everyone liked it. This recipe makes quite a bit. If I made it in the future I might cut the miracle whip in half and scale it down a bit. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Great, I haven't had this in years, glad I found again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I make this all the time and its a great hit. I use the imitation crab meat sold in the refrigerator section. I grate the crab meat up in a food processor and then mix in the cream cheese well, then I pour the cocktail sauce over. It turns out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
One of my all time favorite appetizers!! Just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
i make this all of the time! my kids love it. I put the chopped crab meat on top of the cocktail sauce though! it's prettier that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wellsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This is always a big hit when I make it. I have found that using the whipped cream cheese in the tub gives it a nice consistency. I've also tried using the non-whipped, tub style for some added flavor. The onion and chive is especially good, but I like to whip it with my electric mixer first to make the consistency a little lighter and easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I can remember my Mom making something like this when I was a kid, of course I wouldn't eat it then!! It was a big hit at my party today, I used imitation krab, it was great. I'll definitely make this again!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I have made this for years, and it is ALWAYS one of the first appetizers to be eaten. I've taken it to parties, potlucks, showers....it's always a favorite. It looks fancy but couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States