Crab Spread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is a nice appetizer recipe, one I've made for some time with only 2 differences. 1st, I always cut my cream cheese with a small amount of sour cream. Not much because you don't want your base runny - just enough to make it easier to spread on crackers and then I form it on a platter. I've shaped it in the past to reflect the theme of the day - like a christmas tree for example. The only other modification is that I also add a can of tiny, drained shrimp (right next to the canned crab in the grocery) - mix the crab and shrimp together in the same bowl used to mix the cream cheese and sour cream (just that small amount of cream cheese that remains on the sides of the bowl mixes with the shrimp and crab and makes it easier to pat onto the outside of the cream cheese base). This is such a cinch to throw together and always goes over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This is always a big hit when I make it. I have found that using the whipped cream cheese in the tub gives it a nice consistency. I've also tried using the non-whipped, tub style for some added flavor. The onion and chive is especially good, but I like to whip it with my electric mixer first to make the consistency a little lighter and easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is so easy and looks great at Christmas. I usually spread cream cheese first, then add homemade cocktail sauce, then layer the crab meat and spritz with a bit of lemon juice. It looks more appetizing and is nicer to spread on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Unbelievably delicious! I did it backwards - covered the cream cheese with cocktail sauce and then topped with crab meat. This is much better with homemade cocktail sauce (ketchup, horseradish, lemon juice). I serve with Triscuits or Wheat Thins. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I make this all the time and its a great hit. I use the imitation crab meat sold in the refrigerator section. I grate the crab meat up in a food processor and then mix in the cream cheese well, then I pour the cocktail sauce over. It turns out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Yummy- after I started making this dish, I realized that my mother used to make this for special holiday gatherings. I used 2 packages of cream cheese, and spread it on a glass dish- then I poured on 1 bottle of the cocktail sauce, and then sprinkled on some artificial crab meat, then drizzled with some lemon juice- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I make this at Christmas. I would like to share a prep direction with you all how I prepare it. Put cream cheese in freezer for 15-20 minutes. Take out and cut the top right and left angles to make a Christmas tree out the of cream cheese. Take the two pcs and put them together to form a rectangle. Then add them to bottom of tree for a trunk. You have a Christmas tree. Follow the rest of the directions and serve on a flat decorative plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delish. My mother in law came over on Christmas and made this and I was soo addicted! I found this recipe and decided to make it...wondeful wonderful!! The only thing I didn't do because it's what she didn't do, was use lemon. I suspose, that if the crab meat was fresh, that would be the way to go, but I used a pouch imitation in the seafood dept from our grocery store. And I'm still addicted. What a neat little appetizer, for parties or just when you want something with crackers. I'll be making this again and again. Myself and my 3 daughters just love this. I didn't expect my son and husband to, but that's more for us. I love love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe should have stayed in the 50's.... Sorry, I was hoping for better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was great! I will use this time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States