Crab Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I love this recipe, have made it several times according to the recipe. The imitation crab meat only comes in a 16oz size at my local store so the whole thing gets added, but we like it that way. Sounds like a lot of prep, but I can usually get all the chopping done while the pasta is cooking/cooling, so for me it's a quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Good base salad, used penne(I omitted olives & sugar sub.) added capers, cider vinegar & red peppers, it's what I had on hand. Flavors were better after chilling for several hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodwiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was great! I added green/red pepper, imitation crab & lobster, green onion, bl. olives, celery, a little shredded cheddar/jack cheese to tri colored noodles (1-lb). For sauce I dbl. the recipe using 2 c. lt mayo, 1 3/4 tbsp vinegar, 2 tsp lemon juice, 2 tsp splenda, 1 tsp garlic/parsley powder, 1 tsp dried dill, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, fresh gr. pepper. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I didn't care for this that much - it didn't have enough flavor for me, even though I added extra fresh dill. Guess I'm just not a crab person. It seemed a bit bland to me. Will try adding some cayenne powder to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I only used 1/2 cup of mayo, and I still thought the mayo taste was overwhelming. I added some fat free plain yogurt to thin out the flavor, and that seemed to help. I didn't use radishes or olives, and I added fresh basil and lots of black pepper. If I made this again, I wouldn't add the sweetener. Between the crab and mayo, it was sweet enough. Definitely make this ahead of time and allow the flavors to develop in the fridge for a few hours. Makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Pretty darn good! I skipped dill and oregano, and toned down garlic, simply because i don't like them with seafood too much. For added crunch and moisture i increased green pepper to a large. Overall, a very nice basic crab salad. Real people pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOT SKILLET

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Terrific. Seashell pasta for a crab salad, how cute! Why didn't I think of that? Anyway, I did not have celery but will use it next time. I'm not sure how much of a diference 1/2 packet of sweetener does, I had some so I used it but I probably won't bother with it next time. I'm glad to finaly find a pasta salad that isn't dreneched ith mayo. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was a big hit! I used an orange pepper instead of a green one. I also did not have any black olives so I omitted that. 2 heaping tsp. of fresh dill was substituted for the dried dill. I looked at the other suggestions and used 1 tsp of sugar instead of the sugar substitute. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking.in.MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I used mini Penne pasta instead and also substituted fresh minced garlic. It added a great flavor. Everyone in the family loves this recipe. Even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was wonderfull! I am going to make it again tonight. Followed ingrednts and used imitation crab. Can't wait to go crabbing and use fresh blue crab in this. Thank you for a very cool dish on a very hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States