Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Best crab rangoon we've ever had, with the following changes: left the water chestnuts out, and only used about 4 or 5 ounces of crabmeat. It was the perfect amount of crabmeat to balance out the cream cheese and not give an overwhelming crab texture or flavor. I fried these in oil that I'd used to fry chicken for the Perfect Sesame Chicken on this site. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is my favorite appetizer of all time! Like some others noted in their reviews, I baked mine in a mini muffin tin sprayed with cooking spray, then I brushed the tops with egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I may have done a bad thing by learning how to make this! Like most, I altered a few things and it turned our AMAZING. I left-out the paprika and water chestnuts and replaced it with green onions, a little siracha hot sauce, and more cream cheese because I LOVE creamy Crab Rangoon. I also used the imitation crab, which I was skeptical about but after using both canned and intimation crab, I found I liked the intimation crab's texture the best. I also baked them instead of frying. I lightly brushed both sides with vegetable oil and baked them at 375* for about 18 minutes flipping them once after the bottom side became golden brown. Then while it was baking, I made this sweet and sour dipping sauce. This recipe is SO SO SO good my mouth is watering just thinking about it :) http://allrecipes.com/recipe/hot-and-sweet-dipping-sauce/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These are great, we make them all the time. I use onion & chive cream cheese and we serve them with sweet Thai chili sauce. The spicy sweet combo with the crab and cheese combo is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I love this recipe! It was very easy to make. I only used one can of crab meat and added about a tablespoon of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very good, and adaptable to different preferences. Make these changes for more of a "Chinese takeout" flavor: - double the cream cheese - decrease the crab by half - omit the water chestnuts - add 2 Tbsp chopped green onions - add 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce I omitted the water chestnuts the second time I made these, since it is not traditionally part of crab rangoon, and the crunch threw me off a bit. Try mixing up a batch, then frying one rangoon and adjusting the filling ingredients before you make the rest. You'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbaby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Simple is best when it comes to crab rangoons which is why this is one of the best recipes for it on this site. The only thing I did not like is 2 cans of crab is too much. I only used one and I found it to be a perfect balance of crab and cream cheese. I also left out the water chestnuts (don't like em), and added green oinions and probably 1 1/2 teaspoons of soy sauce for a little asian flavor. This recipe yielded me about 20 rangoons and I had to stop myself from eating them all. This would be a great dish to double and take to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
The wonton wrappers that I used made the breading so thin and even more crispy and decadent than ones that I get at my local Chinese joint. I made a few changes, the first change was adding green onion, since I already had some on hand, and it sounded like a great suggestion from past reviewers. The other change I made was doubling the cream cheese. It was an accident, but oddly enough, recommended by past reviewers. They just turned out wonderful! I'm hooked, and they are almost better than restaurant ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariusvamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good, even though I'm really bad at making them... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great! No questions asked, all except for the water chesnuts. Totally not needed. Imitation crab meat works just great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States