Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Disappointed. I expected something better because it had the ingredients I was looking for. Won't make again and will just stick with crab dips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Wow, so good! I only used one 6oz. can of crab meat for these because I didn't want them too 'crabby', left out the water chestnuts and added a tsp. of soy sauce. One of my sons (the one I was afraid, would think them too crabby) said they were better than the restaurant ones he's had. When I sealed my wrappers I used about 2Tb spoons of cornstarch dissolved in a little water instead of just plain water to seal the wrapper edges. It does help make a little better seal and the filling pretty much stayed in all but a couple of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and omitted the water chestnuts, and doubled the cream cheese and added green onion and what I got was an awesome crab rangoon that was still plenty crabalicious! I did a slightly more than 2x the recipe(2.5 I guess) and I came out with enough to feed 25 people a couple, so if you are wanting enough for a large family, go easy on this one. It makes a TON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I LOVED these!!! :) I followed the recipe for the crab mixture, but I followed the recommendation of another reviewer to use onion and chive cream cheese, which I think really added to the mixture. It tasted just like what you find at restaurants. For the wonton wrapping, I watched a You Tube video of how to wrap wontons, and I really got the hang of it. The trick is to not stuff the wonton wrapper too thick...only use 1tsp per wonton wrapper, then seal it well, and you will not have problems with the insides spewing out. These were so tasty and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I am not sure what I did wrong but the wontons were empty by the time I pulled them out of the fryer;( If we did the triangle form there was a little filling left but not much. We did the two cans since we like it crabby. I wonder if we didn't strain enough water off the cans? Any ideas or comments?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Usually I have pretty good luck with recipes, but this one really let me down. I followed the recipe exactly and was grossly disappointed. These did not taste like the super yummy cream cheese wontons/ crab rangoons from my favorite Chinese place; not even close. :( I will continue my search for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These were FANTASTIC!! Would most definately make again. I did adjust the amount of crab to my own taste...but WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
It's very simple and easy although...I didn't not add the chestnuts I do however suggest a little Zataran to spice it up cause it was a little bland..but good none the less, careful frying that cheese will fly out and getchya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great recipe, great taste after I tweaked it. No water chestnuts, added a dash (or two) of soy sauce (that is a muss), practice your wonton assembly techniques. I didn't have it down pat, a few came out great, the others..well, not so much. I used phyllo cups to cook/bake the rest in a 350 degree oven for 15 to 20 mins. And Viola`! Yummers!!! Someone else suggested to make the mixture the night before - awesome idea. Best suggestion yet - read all of the reviews. Awesome recipe, I will be making my own from now on. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were amazing! Left out water chestnuts, don't care for them. Blended all ingredients in a food processor, folded wonton wrappers in a triangle after putting in the filling, put water around edges, pressed with fork, to hold in cream filling. Made around 40-50, we ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States