Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I LOVED these!!! :) I followed the recipe for the crab mixture, but I followed the recommendation of another reviewer to use onion and chive cream cheese, which I think really added to the mixture. It tasted just like what you find at restaurants. For the wonton wrapping, I watched a You Tube video of how to wrap wontons, and I really got the hang of it. The trick is to not stuff the wonton wrapper too thick...only use 1tsp per wonton wrapper, then seal it well, and you will not have problems with the insides spewing out. These were so tasty and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I am not sure what I did wrong but the wontons were empty by the time I pulled them out of the fryer;( If we did the triangle form there was a little filling left but not much. We did the two cans since we like it crabby. I wonder if we didn't strain enough water off the cans? Any ideas or comments?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Usually I have pretty good luck with recipes, but this one really let me down. I followed the recipe exactly and was grossly disappointed. These did not taste like the super yummy cream cheese wontons/ crab rangoons from my favorite Chinese place; not even close. :( I will continue my search for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These were FANTASTIC!! Would most definately make again. I did adjust the amount of crab to my own taste...but WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
It's very simple and easy although...I didn't not add the chestnuts I do however suggest a little Zataran to spice it up cause it was a little bland..but good none the less, careful frying that cheese will fly out and getchya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great recipe, great taste after I tweaked it. No water chestnuts, added a dash (or two) of soy sauce (that is a muss), practice your wonton assembly techniques. I didn't have it down pat, a few came out great, the others..well, not so much. I used phyllo cups to cook/bake the rest in a 350 degree oven for 15 to 20 mins. And Viola`! Yummers!!! Someone else suggested to make the mixture the night before - awesome idea. Best suggestion yet - read all of the reviews. Awesome recipe, I will be making my own from now on. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were amazing! Left out water chestnuts, don't care for them. Blended all ingredients in a food processor, folded wonton wrappers in a triangle after putting in the filling, put water around edges, pressed with fork, to hold in cream filling. Made around 40-50, we ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Better than the restaurants!! The triangle fold worked best for us!! Dipped in sweet and sour or soy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My only issue with this, really had nothing to do with the recipe itself. I baked the wontons (Didn't have enough oil) And they did not cook uniformly. The tops were far too crunchy while the pockets were far too chewy.(Side note, I had NO idea wonton wrappers were actually made of tofu). So my guess is frying is a must. I omitted the water chestnuts, and halved the crab. The filling itself tasted fine (though next time I think I'll add more cream cheese for a creamier consistency) IF you do try to bake, be sure to grease your cooking sheet. I had a few stick and tear cause I forgot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States