Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe, but I baked the wontons instead of frying them for a healthier alternative. I brushed them with beaten egg and a little water and baked at them 375 for 15 minutes. Make sure to seal them really tightly or they might ooze a little...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I was a little hesitant about trying out this recipe b/c of the mixed reviews, but with some tweeking, it turned out really good! I added some finely chopped green onions and used only half of ONE can crab meat for a stronger cream-cheese taste. Some people also commented that the filling was too mushy and fell apart in the oil. You can avoid this by squeezing out all the water in the crabmeat before adding to the cream cheese mixture (also results in less crabby taste). And when you moisten the wonton wrapper edges with water, you get a tight seal. None of mine fell apart in the oil... I tried various different folds and liked the triangular fold the best. This is pretty darn close to restaurant-quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
I used this recipe as a base for my crab rangoons. I thought there was a little too much crab and not enough cream cheese. I also added some green onions to off set the two. It turned out really well with those minor alterations. The added cream cheese (2 1/2 pkgs) made the inner mix a little creamier and not so crumbly. This was an excellent overall recipe..... it just needed a little tweeking for my taste. I hope this was helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
These are delicious. I rate them better than the restaurants, though in the restaurant version, the wrappers are a little thicker. I omitted the parika and water chestnuts. I also use the imitation crabmeat and like that better than canned. I add a tablespoon of soy sauce to the mix as well. I made these as an appetizer on Christmas Eve and they were gone in seconds! I have made them at least 3 times since and my family always requests them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENNJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is definitely an awesome recipe -- with a little tweaking. I followed the previous suggestion for ignoring the water chestnuts and adding the green onion. To cut down on a >few
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Love this recipe, but for the inexperienced in this item...make them ahead of time and you may need to wet your wrapper if using dry wrappers. Have a bunch folded before you start frying...or have a helper. Great great great recipe - tasted just like the chinese restaurant's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This one is THE BEST I've tried! Wow! The only change I made to it was no water chestnuts (hubby doesn't like them) and added about 1 Tbsp of chopped green onion. I also added only one can of crab meat instead of 2 and it was PERFECT! I asked my hubby what he thought and I quote "They're good, no they're awesome!" Thanks for sharing, this one will definitely be used in this house for a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Centre, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I really liked these. I did add some green onions for color and used the imitation crab meat instead of the canned. I also added just a splash of soy sauce. They turned out really well. I only made these changes after trying the recipe as written first (except for the imitation crab meat). I didn't think it had enough flavor or color for our liking. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I made this for the Superbowl. Everyone loved them! I left out the water chestnuts. They tasted even better than the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Delicious! I did not use the canned crab - I got the packaged stuff from the seafood section and adjusted the spices somewhat to taste. We ate the finished rangoons with a sweet/spicy Thai sauce - Amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States