Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great recipe, great taste after I tweaked it. No water chestnuts, added a dash (or two) of soy sauce (that is a muss), practice your wonton assembly techniques. I didn't have it down pat, a few came out great, the others..well, not so much. I used phyllo cups to cook/bake the rest in a 350 degree oven for 15 to 20 mins. And Viola`! Yummers!!! Someone else suggested to make the mixture the night before - awesome idea. Best suggestion yet - read all of the reviews. Awesome recipe, I will be making my own from now on. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were amazing! Left out water chestnuts, don't care for them. Blended all ingredients in a food processor, folded wonton wrappers in a triangle after putting in the filling, put water around edges, pressed with fork, to hold in cream filling. Made around 40-50, we ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Better than the restaurants!! The triangle fold worked best for us!! Dipped in sweet and sour or soy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My only issue with this, really had nothing to do with the recipe itself. I baked the wontons (Didn't have enough oil) And they did not cook uniformly. The tops were far too crunchy while the pockets were far too chewy.(Side note, I had NO idea wonton wrappers were actually made of tofu). So my guess is frying is a must. I omitted the water chestnuts, and halved the crab. The filling itself tasted fine (though next time I think I'll add more cream cheese for a creamier consistency) IF you do try to bake, be sure to grease your cooking sheet. I had a few stick and tear cause I forgot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ton-Rucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used only one can of crab and it came out like restaurant style. I also didn't use water chestnuts...never had them with water chestnuts. My husband liked them. I used peanut oil for frying and had no issues. I wet the wrappers on the edges to seal and had no issues with them opening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe got such good reviews and Ive always wanted to try making these but with adjustments they turned out awful! I used imitation crab meat which just didn't taste right and I also baked them but the texture of the wonton wrapper was not good at all. Overall I think I'll use actual real crab meat and fry them next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Crab Ragoon is my favorite chinese item! This was so delicious! now i can make crab ragoon all day every dayy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made these for a New Years Eve Party, 2011-2012. There wasn't one left over. Modifications: 2 Packages of Philadelphia Cream Cheese. 1 Can of fancy crab meat, throughly drained. 3 Diced scallions. No water chestnuts. Combined mixture with a hand blender. Baked for approximately 10 minutes, 5 minutes on each side vs. fried. This made over 50 crab rangoon's plus extra filling left over. They turned out very creamy, with a subtle hint of crab taste. If you prefer a stronger crab taste, I would use 1 & 1/2 can of fancy crab meat; I plan to do this next time. Some of my wontons oozed slightly while baking. Remember to try and seal the wonton as firmly as possible. This is a great simple recipe that is easily manipulated to your specifications. Just remember that filling & folding wontons is time consuming, so plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
All the insides came out during frying despite sealing the edges very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States