Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was very generic. As others have said, halve the crabmeat for a stronger cream cheese flavor. Next time I make this I will add chopped spring onions and 1t of worcestershire sauce. Overall, it's not a bad recipe. Just needs some more flavor. Maybe a GREAT sauce can bring this up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Not as good as the real thing, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I did what others suggested and cut the amount of crab meat down to 1-6 ounce can, added 1/4 cup chopped green onions instead of water chesnuts and added more sugar and they turned out great. I kept adding a tsp of sugar to the mix until I got it sweet enough to our liking, which was 7 tsp. The only criticizism I had was that they were a little oily on the inside even though I let them drain plenty so next time I will try them in the oven. Also, a lot of the filling was evaporated when I fried them. Got "Mmmmmm" from the little one that loves them from a restaurant though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PartyofFive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
It was almost as good as the ones in the Chinese restaurant, but too crabby. I already halved the crab but was still too crabby, may do a package and a half of cream cheese next time, but still really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was very good. Not bad for my 1st try. I left out water chestnuts, since I can't eat them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricketinwoods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
To be fair, I did modify the recipe by substituting water chestnuts for green onions, because I know thats what my local buffett uses. Also, I did only use 1 can of the crabmeat per others reviews. The result was yummy, BUT these are missing a "sweetness" that I'm used to from my buffett! Next time, I will tinker with that, and then these will be perfect for me! The hubby liked them as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I didn't use water chestnuts, but I added green onions for color and flavor. The first time I made these, I baked them for a party and they went fast. Last weekend, my husband wanted to try them fried and they went even faster. I served these with a sweet chili sauce from a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I would not suggest using 2 cans of crabmeat - but other than that - this was great. Finally got by husband to try chinese, drawback is that i have to make it now. This recipe will be a keeper. If you do not have water chestnuts it's ok to omit, but if you have green onion on hand finely dice them up and put them in - they are good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hallsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
As written these were good, not great. For our tastes I added chopped green onions, omitted the water chesnuts and added a tiny bit more sugar. Rave reviews from guests with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Outstanding! Better than the restaurants because we didn't have to leave our house to get our fix. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States