Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have been making crab rangoon for over 20 years with a recipe similar to this. It is ALWAYS requested. My husband usually is my helper, and we make enough(double) to serve several times over the holidays. I freeze on trays after oil frying (only until light golden), and then transfer to freezer bags. Reheat when needed in oven on cookie sheets until golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Souderton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Crab Rangoon tastes just as good, if not better, when the fried treats are completely cooled. If you leave them to cool in the open air, the wonton will stay crispy while the cream cheese mixture will regain some of its solid composure. I'm not a big water chestnut fan, so I used a heaping amount of green onions. I was also generous with the garlic powder. Magnifique! This recipe turned out better than most frozen prepared appetizers I've bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I just made these for dinner but I think they really needed some salt. Next time I make them I will add 1 tsp salt to the mixture before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were delicious. I made them using imitation crab and fresh minced garlic rather than garlic powder. I didn't have water chestnuts, but I did add some chopped green onion. Those were the only alterations and they tasted just like the ones you get at a restaurant. My family agreed. Thanks for the recipe, La Vaun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
these were ok. had a hard time getting them to stick together even wetting edges they still spilled out in the oil. need more practice. i added crab alittle at a time and tasted it so i wouldn't put too much as other reviews said it was tooo crabby. overall taste is great prep is for more experienced then i am
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Again, so much easier than I could have expected. Thanks for making it so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Awesome.. What I did to avoid smooshy cream cheese is pop them in the freezer for about 15-30 minutes before frying. You don't want the wonton wrappers to get frozen solid, so too much longer would probably be bad, but this quick freeze gives the cream cheese time to begin to freeze, so it doesn't go as liquid in the fryer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
We baked instead of fried. Also, couldn't find wonton wrappers so settled for philo dough. Next time I may go to a oriental store to see if they have wonton wrappers. My boyfriend thinks fake crab would be better than real. We forgot to put the spices in! They were kind of pale, spices would add more. These were neat, the baking option was a real plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These were great...I did omit the water chestnuts and doubled the filling! We will NEVER buy these again...the kids enjoyed making them. The filling is good on crackers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babilove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
A long time ago I used to buy a certain brand of crab rangoons, which sadly I can not find anymore. This recipe was a great starting point! All I could find at the store was a 16 oz can of crab so I added 1 more package of cream cheese, doubled the garlic and paprika, used 1/3c water chestnuts and sliced green onions. With those small changes, anyone who may possibly remember the Schwan Sales crab rangoons, they were an exact replica! Hubby had me save the excess to use as a spread for crackers, he loved it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States