Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was just ok. My biggest complaint was the canned crab. This was my first and last time using it. If I decide to make this again, I will need to splurge on fresh backfin. I thought they were fairly easy to put together but very time consuming. I did switch out water chestnuts for green onion. I fried them and the consistency was pretty good. I think using fresh crabmeat would have taken this from average to delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
We LOVED it!!!! I substituted water chestnuts for onions but I still think it's a good recipe because it's versatile. Oh yeah, also I used one beaten egg to seal them. This help with spillage!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I love this recipe! A few suggestions.....Using half pineapple cream cheese and half regular really gives it a nice flavor, only one can of crab, and I don't think it has the right flavor at all if you don't use some kind of onion. I've never used the water chestnuts. I also use an egg/milk mixture to seal the rangoons. I've never had one leak at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I omit the water chestnuts and cut the crab in half, but this is definatley the best recipe that I've found!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
The over all concept is great! I did add scallions and more cream cheese than crab. My shells blew up and all my mixtures can out. I think it was because I let it set in the frig for a while after I had prepared before I fried them. I'll try again and cook them right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrzstew09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was really good. I only used one can of crab meat though. Still was good but next time I think Im deff gonna try two cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
very good recipe,thanks.I like to mess around in the kitcen so I changed somethings.I cut back on the crab by half and added a small can of minced clams with it,some parm. cheese,and parsley flakes. I dip them in cocktail sauce with sauted onion and a little tabasco sauce in it.thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
We loved this! I made a couple of changes. Because I like less crab and a creamier texture, I only used half of one can of crabmeat and added 1 tsp. of sugar. I had the oil really hot and they only fried for a minute or less but they were perfect. Didn't even need sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Crabby taste. I've even halved the crab but it was still a bit strong. Adding green onions is a plus. I think next time I will omit the crab and chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very good recipe...followed someone elses instructions on adding 1 tablespoon of soy sauce. Didnt care for the color but it was really good. I ended up making a second batch without it and preferred it just as well. Rated it a 4 only because of my modification. I only used 1/2 8 oz pkg of imitation crab meat I do know with the amount of crabmeat called for in this recipe it would have been too crabby for me. I too added chopped green onions aprox 1/2 cup. I do prefer the cream cheese taste in my rangoons. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xfulanix

Displaying results 91-100 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States