Crab Rangoon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I ended up throwing close to 30 of these away. These were soy sauce rangoons,not crab. WAY too much soy sauce. I remade the recipe using NO soy sauce and adding sliced green onion. ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. (and a little garlic powder)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Great recipe! The cilantro and ginger give it some nice flavor- and there's actually crab in it!!!! Nice! Most chinese restaraunts serve "cream cheese wontons" rather than actual "crab rangoons". If you're a fan of crab rangoons offered at these types of places (esp. buffets), cut the crab in 1/2, or even 3/4. Also- crab rangoons take a LONG time to make- the prep, the "stuffing", and the frying, that doesn't mean they suck, it just means they take time! I've sometimes used it as a conversation piece to a dinner party, while the guests are trickling in, I'm assembling them, and we all gather in the kitchen and talk while they're frying. They're gobbled off the platter as fast as i can make them. They're great with sweet and sour sauce. Also- as the recipe says- this recipe makes 10 servings! That's a lot of crab rangoon (which is NEVER a bad thing in my book!). 2 suggestions- if you want a smoother texture- use a food processor to finely chop the ingredients before mixing in the cream cheese. AND- for added flavor- green onion (or any finely chopped onion) and garlic also add good flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
These were pretty good. I made the night before and reheated for 10 min at 200. Not as good fresh, but still tasty. Folded into envelopes so the mix didn't leak out. Served with duck sauce. Edit: I made them again today (12/04) and they turned out perfect! Here's what I did different: Used fresh parsley, added 1 tsp. chopped green onion, 1 1/2 T. La Choy soy sauce (cause I think it's less salty), sprinkle of salt, pepper & garlic salt, grated fresh ginger on microplane, 1 & 1/2 pkgs of cream cheese, 12 oz. of real crab meat, and 1 lb. package of egg roll wraps, cut in 1/4. My mixture came out perfect against the amount of wraps. I folded into envelope shape, dabbed w/ water and froze extra between sheets of wax paper. As a side note, the egg roll wraps are in the produce area of your grocer and I found fresh crab meat in a foil pouch by my seafood area (I live in the Midwest). My grocer said the crab is seasonal for the holidays... it it produced by Blue Star. I stocked up on the crab since it's good for over a year. Hope this helps everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This is a yummy recipe, and based on others' reviews, I skipped the ginger and cilantro, and added just a splash of soy sauce. I also added a drop or two of hot sauce to liven it up a bit. Then I BAKED them at 350 for 20 minutes...or until lightly brown and crisp. Addictive and less fattening since they're not fried. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Oh my, yummy, excelent, delish, AMAZING!! When the local grocery store stopped selling crab rangoon, everybody went nuts. Being the cook in the family i had to find a recipe and make it. Here it is, better than store bought. Thanks to this recipe i am an angel to my family. Since it is a lot of work, i double the recipe. Make it all up, then freeze it prepared. Then all you have to do is pop them into the fryer and viola!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I love crab rangoon, and was very happy to discover a recipe for them. After reading all the other reviews, I made some of the adjustments that others had suggested (added garlic, and replaced cilantro with green onions). I was kind of skeptical about if they would taste as good as the restaurants', but MAN OH MAN!!!! They are WONDERFUL. Even better than the local restaurants'. I love that I can freeze them, and cook them up whenever I want. Hint though, if you freeze them, spray your pan with cooking spray, or they tend to stick and end up with no bottoms!! Now if only I can find a really good recipe for the rest of the chinese dishes I like, I will never have to pay restaurant prices!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Excellent recipe! I make these every year for New Year's Eve. Freezes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
My husband & I are big fans of restaurant-style crab rangoon. Sad to say, these are not them. Even though I cut the soy sauce in 1/2, was still way too salty. My husband didn't care for the ginger. Next time I will stick to garlic and green onions in the filling. I make my dough into little envelopes, easier to fry evenly that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Delicious recipe! For those who need specifics, won ton wrappers can easily be found in any asian market either the refrigerated/frozen section. And the best soy sauce brand to use is "Kikkoman," the most commonly used type in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
These were definitely lacking in something. I kept adding and adding and it tasted good in the mixing bowl--but, once I fried them, the taste was GONE! It tasted NOTHING like any crab rangoons I have ever tasted and I was very disappointed. I was so proud to have made them LOOK exactly like the ones in the restaurants, but it was a waste of time. I stll have these in the freezer and made them two weeks ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States