Crab Rangoon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
These were pretty good. I made the night before and reheated for 10 min at 200. Not as good fresh, but still tasty. Folded into envelopes so the mix didn't leak out. Served with duck sauce. Edit: I made them again today (12/04) and they turned out perfect! Here's what I did different: Used fresh parsley, added 1 tsp. chopped green onion, 1 1/2 T. La Choy soy sauce (cause I think it's less salty), sprinkle of salt, pepper & garlic salt, grated fresh ginger on microplane, 1 & 1/2 pkgs of cream cheese, 12 oz. of real crab meat, and 1 lb. package of egg roll wraps, cut in 1/4. My mixture came out perfect against the amount of wraps. I folded into envelope shape, dabbed w/ water and froze extra between sheets of wax paper. As a side note, the egg roll wraps are in the produce area of your grocer and I found fresh crab meat in a foil pouch by my seafood area (I live in the Midwest). My grocer said the crab is seasonal for the holidays... it it produced by Blue Star. I stocked up on the crab since it's good for over a year. Hope this helps everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Excellent recipe! I make these every year for New Year's Eve. Freezes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
These were definitely lacking in something. I kept adding and adding and it tasted good in the mixing bowl--but, once I fried them, the taste was GONE! It tasted NOTHING like any crab rangoons I have ever tasted and I was very disappointed. I was so proud to have made them LOOK exactly like the ones in the restaurants, but it was a waste of time. I stll have these in the freezer and made them two weeks ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
My husband & I are big fans of restaurant-style crab rangoon. Sad to say, these are not them. Even though I cut the soy sauce in 1/2, was still way too salty. My husband didn't care for the ginger. Next time I will stick to garlic and green onions in the filling. I make my dough into little envelopes, easier to fry evenly that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
These were great and easy to make. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Delicious recipe! For those who need specifics, won ton wrappers can easily be found in any asian market either the refrigerated/frozen section. And the best soy sauce brand to use is "Kikkoman," the most commonly used type in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
I left out the soy sauce completely, and only put in a little ginger. I only had dried cilantro, so I used quite a bit (still couldn't taste it though). All in all, these were pretty darn good. I might try baking them next time to cut some of the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I ended up throwing close to 30 of these away. These were soy sauce rangoons,not crab. WAY too much soy sauce. I remade the recipe using NO soy sauce and adding sliced green onion. ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. (and a little garlic powder)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
These are a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Loved these ragoons!!!...I love them in the restraunts and went crazy to make these when i found a recipie, only problem is trying to find the wonton wraps for the ragoons...I can't find them in any of the groceries around here so i used fillo dough (in the freezer sections) which tasted great but was almost a NIGHTMARE to peel and not tear in order to wrap the crab/creamcheese mixture..and we had to bake them instead of frying (i was afraid the dough wouldn't hold up to the fryer!!!) Tasted wonderful though!!! Will do again if i can locate wanton wrappers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States