Crab Rangoon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Lovely recipe. i served this with sweet chilli sauce,tasted wonderful... i got tons of compliments! the only problem i had was with the frying.. the wontons often just burst while frying. i dont know what the right temp shud be for the frying..but surely hope i figure it out soon. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
WOW! These were good! I usually do my Crab puffs with coctail sauce, green onion, garlic & cream cheese but we really enjoyed the Asian kick these offer. We did sub green onion for cilantro (which I love but not everybody else does) and also added minced garlic. We used all 50 wonton wrappers and still had some filling left over so we have been spreading it on crackers today. Also, a whole pound of crab meat is not needed. This recipe is fine with about 8oz and helps keep the cost down. Voted as our favorite New Years eve appetizer and we made several--Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This was a good recipe but much more complicated that what I normally would do. The result was pretty good. I prefer the easier way in that I simply mix up softened cream cheese, a bit of garlic and onion powder, sliced green onions and crabmeat for the filling. I place a small ball in the middle of the wonton and continue to fry up. Delicious and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
These were a little bit of a disappointment--nothing like the crab rangoon I've had in countless Chinese restaurants. First, folding the won ton wrappers, for me--was not as intuitive as the recipe seems to imply. Second, the dark soy sauce overpowers the flavor and appearance of the mixture. Recipe writers shouldn't assume--beginners won't always intuitively understand instructions. The flavor wasn't all bad and the frying part was fine, but the shape of my crab rangoon looked like it was done by a pre-schooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I love crab rangoon, and was very happy to discover a recipe for them. After reading all the other reviews, I made some of the adjustments that others had suggested (added garlic, and replaced cilantro with green onions). I was kind of skeptical about if they would taste as good as the restaurants', but MAN OH MAN!!!! They are WONDERFUL. Even better than the local restaurants'. I love that I can freeze them, and cook them up whenever I want. Hint though, if you freeze them, spray your pan with cooking spray, or they tend to stick and end up with no bottoms!! Now if only I can find a really good recipe for the rest of the chinese dishes I like, I will never have to pay restaurant prices!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I AM THRILLED TO GET THIS RECIPE!! Do you think it would be just as good, {or almost as good} if I use shrimp instead of crab? My dh is terrribly allergic to crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Superb Recipe! Me, my mom and my boyfriend ate till our stomachs we ready to burst!! For me this was a very unique taste. Glad I tried it. I also added to the mixture some hot red peppers and I halved the soysauce because of what the other reviewers said. And also because I couldn't find wonton wrappers I just wrapped them in spring roll wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This was FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!! I made them for a Chinese New Year's party -- and they were a HIT! I don't think they were too salty at all. I did make a few changes though. I used green onion instead of cilantro. I used ground ginger instead of fresh. I also added garlic powder because I love garlic. And I used Louis Kemp instead of fresh crab meat. Also, I made these the night before and kept them refridgerated till I was ready to fry them...that worked out very nicely!!! If you like Crab Rangoon..I think you will LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Oh my, yummy, excelent, delish, AMAZING!! When the local grocery store stopped selling crab rangoon, everybody went nuts. Being the cook in the family i had to find a recipe and make it. Here it is, better than store bought. Thanks to this recipe i am an angel to my family. Since it is a lot of work, i double the recipe. Make it all up, then freeze it prepared. Then all you have to do is pop them into the fryer and viola!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was a great dish, just like the restaurants around the area
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States