Crab Rangoon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Excellent recipe. I followed the rcipe to a "T" until it was time to fry. I coated a frying pan with a thick layer of a non-stick olive oil spray and the face-up side of the wontons as well. I fried them for about 4-5 minutes on each side at low-med heat. They were great and a lot less fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This recipe was great. I had a craving for crab rangoon and this hit the spot. I did leave out the soy sauce and added minced garlic and 3 green onions. Would probably add more onions next time. I only used 3/4 of a pound of imitation crab meat. We dipped ours in sweet and sour sauce. They were a little time consuming but fun for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
My husband and I love crab rangoon! In our opinion this had too much crab and we ended up having to buy a ton of cream cheese to compensate. Also, the soy sauce is very very strong. If you like the taste of the crab and the cheese you should leave it out and try frying a few. Once you've got it in.. it's all over :) Putting a 1/2 t of sugar in for each cream cheese makes it taste just a bit sweet, like one of our favorite places. Wish we wouldn't have put the soy sauce in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Awesome!!! easy on the ginger though, Can easily overpower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Papa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was a good recipe! I added 1/2 a cup of sugar to make it a little sweet and I half everything except the cream cheese. The soy sauce and ginger were over powering at first. Don't taste it before cooking and adjust because after it cooks it comes out different and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
these really are good. the addition of ginger gives it a lovely flavor, and even though i scaled the recipe back, i thought the amount of soy sauce overall was fine. i added extra water chestnuts for crunch, and fresh parsley, but left out the cilantro, and i added some garlic powder as well. as per another's suggestion, i think a bit of lime would be great. i put it all in the food processor, which worked really well. i wound up adding extra crab after i took it out though - nice to have some chunks. i made BIG wontons cause i only had 6 or 7 left -- it may seem tricky to use the wrappers, but i think the trick is in the water you use to "moisten" to seal. don't skimp on the water; wet your fingers and work with the wrapper for a few seconds and you can really twist them into whatever kind of seal you want (triangle, package, roll, etc). these were really tasty, and a great recipe to work with. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Didn't add the cilantro, but added green onions to the mix. Also I reduced the amount of soy to 1/2 because of the reviews. I was happy with the inside mixture, but not so happy with the wonton wrapper. My fault though. First time I have ever made these, but will make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
It tasted like creamy soy sauce. You couldn't taste the cream cheese or the cilantro, I'm not even sure why they are ingredients. I would strongly recommend against this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Vert good, I did as others added minced onion, half the crab, garlic powder and hot sauce. Thank for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I took the advice of others and rolled them like my egg rolls. I also had a little bit of soy sauce to the mixture. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States