Crab Rangoon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Excellent recipe! I make these every year for New Year's Eve. Freezes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
These were definitely lacking in something. I kept adding and adding and it tasted good in the mixing bowl--but, once I fried them, the taste was GONE! It tasted NOTHING like any crab rangoons I have ever tasted and I was very disappointed. I was so proud to have made them LOOK exactly like the ones in the restaurants, but it was a waste of time. I stll have these in the freezer and made them two weeks ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
My husband & I are big fans of restaurant-style crab rangoon. Sad to say, these are not them. Even though I cut the soy sauce in 1/2, was still way too salty. My husband didn't care for the ginger. Next time I will stick to garlic and green onions in the filling. I make my dough into little envelopes, easier to fry evenly that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
These were great and easy to make. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Delicious recipe! For those who need specifics, won ton wrappers can easily be found in any asian market either the refrigerated/frozen section. And the best soy sauce brand to use is "Kikkoman," the most commonly used type in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
I left out the soy sauce completely, and only put in a little ginger. I only had dried cilantro, so I used quite a bit (still couldn't taste it though). All in all, these were pretty darn good. I might try baking them next time to cut some of the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I ended up throwing close to 30 of these away. These were soy sauce rangoons,not crab. WAY too much soy sauce. I remade the recipe using NO soy sauce and adding sliced green onion. ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. (and a little garlic powder)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
These are a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Loved these ragoons!!!...I love them in the restraunts and went crazy to make these when i found a recipie, only problem is trying to find the wonton wraps for the ragoons...I can't find them in any of the groceries around here so i used fillo dough (in the freezer sections) which tasted great but was almost a NIGHTMARE to peel and not tear in order to wrap the crab/creamcheese mixture..and we had to bake them instead of frying (i was afraid the dough wouldn't hold up to the fryer!!!) Tasted wonderful though!!! Will do again if i can locate wanton wrappers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I don't have kids, but as a kid I would have loved this!! We were out of crab meat when I tried to make these, so I made it with lightly cooked salmon...the two "men-of-the-house" approved. For those who have reviewed that they "tasted horrible"--I think they taste the way crab rangoon should, you probably just don't like them and are used to egg-roll type fillings or the "traditional" pork fillings of wontons and gau gee. I'm going to call the salmon version, "Seattle's rangoon...:)"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States