Crab Rangoon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
These did not turn out good for me. I had to throw them all away. No one really cared for how they tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This is a yummy recipe, and based on others' reviews, I skipped the ginger and cilantro, and added just a splash of soy sauce. I also added a drop or two of hot sauce to liven it up a bit. Then I BAKED them at 350 for 20 minutes...or until lightly brown and crisp. Addictive and less fattening since they're not fried. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Great recipe! The cilantro and ginger give it some nice flavor- and there's actually crab in it!!!! Nice! Most chinese restaraunts serve "cream cheese wontons" rather than actual "crab rangoons". If you're a fan of crab rangoons offered at these types of places (esp. buffets), cut the crab in 1/2, or even 3/4. Also- crab rangoons take a LONG time to make- the prep, the "stuffing", and the frying, that doesn't mean they suck, it just means they take time! I've sometimes used it as a conversation piece to a dinner party, while the guests are trickling in, I'm assembling them, and we all gather in the kitchen and talk while they're frying. They're gobbled off the platter as fast as i can make them. They're great with sweet and sour sauce. Also- as the recipe says- this recipe makes 10 servings! That's a lot of crab rangoon (which is NEVER a bad thing in my book!). 2 suggestions- if you want a smoother texture- use a food processor to finely chop the ingredients before mixing in the cream cheese. AND- for added flavor- green onion (or any finely chopped onion) and garlic also add good flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Very good. only used 1/2 the cream cheese and 1/2 the crab meat stated in the recipe. Left out the ginger and cilantro (didn't have any on hand). Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I was so encouraged by the reviews that I doubled the recipe & added extra crab meat.Well, sadly I made these for Christmas and NO ONE liked them. I think there is way too much soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
These were a huge hit at a small holiday party we hosted. We baked them instead of frying and they were wonderful, bake them at 350, until they are browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
These were a hit at my in-laws party. I cut down on the ginger as suggested on other reviews. The recipe made about 80 rangoons, so I froze half of them. It took a little longer for them to cook from frozen state, but still just as yummy. Be sure to freeze them individually on a cookie sheet before putting them in a freezer bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
not the best. they are ok, but nothing like the ones in the restuarant. the ginger is over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Great recipe....! If you need a quick fix.....put all of the ingredients, including chopped green onions in a small baking dish, sprayed with non-stick spray, pour a jar of sweet and sour over the top, bake it until bubbly. Then use the wontons, (baked and sprayed with Pam..sprinkled with parmesan cheese and salt) to dip in the crab rangoon dip. Very good!!! and Very easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
My husband took one bite and declared, "These are the best things I've ever tasted in my life!." Maybe a little over enthusiastic, but they were good. I only made 1/2 the filling and still had enough for at least 30 won ton wrappers. I also used a tad more cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cainta, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States