Crab Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I'm giving this five stars because I used real crabmeat; I live in Maryland and it's relatively reasonable. Even if you're land-locked, you can buy canned crabmeat in the tuna aisle. Friends don't let friends (or relatives) eat the fake stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious! My mom has been the "quiche queen" in the family - until now! I may be able to give her a run for her money with this one! I made a few adjustments...We hate imitation crab, so I used canned. I only had half-n-half so I used that with 1 t. cornstarch added to it in place of the heavy cream. I also added garlic powder, a little Old Bay, and touch more hot sauce. Hubby had thirds and even picky 13-yr. old daughter left none on the plate. Served with a big salad. I will certainly make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
this is absolutely delicious the way it is, but I made changes another time to decrease the fat/calories and it was as good...used egg whites instead of eggs, thickened rice milk instead of heavy cream, and added 1 tsp. Old Bay Seasoning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I'm not the hugest fan of imitation crab, however, living overseas it isn't always available so.... instead of substituting real crab which is expensive anyway - I made this quiche as written (not an everyday occurence I might add! HA!) The only I did change which is standard for me is that I am unable to get a premade crust here and just can't seem to make a decent crust (I vow to learn someday) so.... I always just add 1/4 flour to any quiche recipe and *voila*...it makes a CRUSTLESS QUICHE! Super simple and always fabulous! If I could have I would have substituted the crabmeat, but even without the real stuff my 5 year old son was requesting THIRDS! ***** I also sliced the imitation crab thinly so the whole texture of it didn't bother me as much***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Photo by E. Teachey
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Really loved this recipe [as did everyone else in my family]....I did modify it a bit though, I made my own pie crust [dont really understand why most people opt for store-bought, ready-made items over home-made it came out amazing] and I took the "to taste" with the hot sauce to heart and used more then three drops of a great habanero hot sause I have...Would definitely make this again, thanks for posting it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Setauket, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Fabulous dish. Didn't realize how filling it can be. I made it for a mother's day brunch with a few changes. I also tripled the tabasco sauce per another reviewer's recommendation. Even so I still think it could have used more. I used 3/4 cup of cream as I thought 1 cup was a little too much too. And I substituted real crabmeat as opposed to artificial. It was a HIT even with the kids! This recipe is definitely a keeper and next time I'll toss in some veggies to lessen my guilt about the cream. All in all a great recipe! The leftovers made a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariah Long
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I really loved this quiche. So did my daughter. My husband even ate it and doesn't like much seafood. I followed the recipe exactly (maybe a little extra tabasco), but found the cook time wasn't enough. I turned the oven on again with the quiche still in, until it began to raise (about 20 min give or take). I took it out and let is settle a bit. Then we ate it. If I cook this again I will add about 10-15 min to the initial cook time, then let it sit with the oven off for the full 30. Your oven and altitude may differ so keep that in mind. Over all this was great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Delicious! I have made this twice now and both times it got rave reviews! I would not deviate one bit from this recipe. It rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Wonderful and easy recipe. Made a few modifications which is why I gave four stars and not five: used half and half, real crab meat and added 1/4 cup Bisquick pancake mix (omitting the pie crust...creating a crustless quiche). Also added frozen spinach to the crab to make this a one-dish meal with veggies. Also baked it @ 325 for about 45 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I must say that this was by far a very easy and extremely delicious recipe for crab quiche. I followed the instructions to a tee, however I did throw a twist in it of my own by adding shrimp to it as well. I just took a little less than half a pound and cut them up into bite size pieces and added them in as the instructions suggested I do with the crab, etc. It came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States