Crab Quiche I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I didn't really care for this. Added 1 extra egg as many other reviewers did. If you like crabcakes you will probably like this, if you don't than you probably won't like this since it is very similar in texture to a crabcake. I did have to cook around an hour until it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I have been searching FOREVER for the perfect crab quiche recipe. This one gets 4 stars "as is" but 5 stars with modifications. (I read ALL of the 282 reviews!) So (1) decide if the crab is the focal point or just an ingredient. If the focus, you must use 2 cans of lump crab. If it's just an ingredient, 1 can of claw meat is OK. I used the 2 cans of lump. (2) I don't care for melted Swiss cheese (too tangy) & cheddar in a quiche can get oily when it melts, but I do like its flavor. So---I used 1 cup of fine shred cheddar and 1 cup of crumbled goat cheese, which presented a really good texture & flavor. (3) For sub-flavors without detracting from the crab: I VERY THINLY sliced about a dozen small button mushrooms, shredded 1/2 of a medium yellow onion, and saute'd them together in a tblspn each of olive oil & butter, seasoned with a little celery salt. Added about 1 1/2 cups baby spinach to the saute and cooked down . Layered into the pie crust in order: crab, mushroom mixture, cheeses. (4) Combined 4 eggs in a blender with 1 cup of half & half, dash of salt, cayenne & dry mustard. Pour over & baked 45 minutes at 350. Result: Perfect quiche where the CRAB is the star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I've been using this recipe forever, and I always get high compliments! It's a lot of reward for such a little bit of work. I use a little less onion, and I shred the cheese, but other than that, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eervin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe is so delicious! I added an extra egg like some of the others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good. I would recomend cutting the onion to about 1/4 cup and add extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This quiche was a huge hit at my house! It seemed to disappear before I could turn around twice! I used lump crab meat from a local restaurant and followed the directions exactly. You're definitely paying a little more for good quality crab meat, but it is WELL WORTH IT! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this tonite for dinner and thought it was good but not great. I will make this again but will add more seasoning. Without it, it is somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Reviews were varied for this recipe. Thoughts were: too much onion, needed something peppy, tastes great! We followed a suggestion and added 2 more eggs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was delicious! It also took me over an hour to cook. I think the only change I would make next time is a little less onion and little more crab meat. Very good though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Tasted very good.The only problem I had that it took 60 min in the oven.The center was still somewhat runny after 45min.Will do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States