Crab Quiche I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
It was a hit at the river house and at work. My husband doesn't like quiche, but he ate this one up. Followed the advise on some of the other reviews and put 3 eggs, 2 6oz cans of crab,2-3 cloves of garlic, hot sauce, cayenne to taste. But I neede my veggies, so I shredded zuccini which my husband could hardly tell, and a little of the old bay seasoning. We couln't gobble it up fast enough. I made 2 of them, and shared and everyone wanted the recipe.Marcie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and I wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey Renee Duke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This actually turned out really well. I added the extra egg, as suggested by many reviewers, but instead of using regular mayo, I substituted it for Wasabi Mayo. It gave the quiche a delicious little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I didn't really care for this. Added 1 extra egg as many other reviewers did. If you like crabcakes you will probably like this, if you don't than you probably won't like this since it is very similar in texture to a crabcake. I did have to cook around an hour until it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I have been searching FOREVER for the perfect crab quiche recipe. This one gets 4 stars "as is" but 5 stars with modifications. (I read ALL of the 282 reviews!) So (1) decide if the crab is the focal point or just an ingredient. If the focus, you must use 2 cans of lump crab. If it's just an ingredient, 1 can of claw meat is OK. I used the 2 cans of lump. (2) I don't care for melted Swiss cheese (too tangy) & cheddar in a quiche can get oily when it melts, but I do like its flavor. So---I used 1 cup of fine shred cheddar and 1 cup of crumbled goat cheese, which presented a really good texture & flavor. (3) For sub-flavors without detracting from the crab: I VERY THINLY sliced about a dozen small button mushrooms, shredded 1/2 of a medium yellow onion, and saute'd them together in a tblspn each of olive oil & butter, seasoned with a little celery salt. Added about 1 1/2 cups baby spinach to the saute and cooked down . Layered into the pie crust in order: crab, mushroom mixture, cheeses. (4) Combined 4 eggs in a blender with 1 cup of half & half, dash of salt, cayenne & dry mustard. Pour over & baked 45 minutes at 350. Result: Perfect quiche where the CRAB is the star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I've been using this recipe forever, and I always get high compliments! It's a lot of reward for such a little bit of work. I use a little less onion, and I shred the cheese, but other than that, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eervin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe is so delicious! I added an extra egg like some of the others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good. I would recomend cutting the onion to about 1/4 cup and add extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This quiche was a huge hit at my house! It seemed to disappear before I could turn around twice! I used lump crab meat from a local restaurant and followed the directions exactly. You're definitely paying a little more for good quality crab meat, but it is WELL WORTH IT! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this tonite for dinner and thought it was good but not great. I will make this again but will add more seasoning. Without it, it is somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Smoked Salmon Quiche

Fantastic brunch recipe with smoked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States