Crab Quiche I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Overall I enjoyed this quiche! I believe simple flavors are best especially when you have an ingredient as delicate as crab. It is very easy to overpower crab with aromatics losing the essence of the crab itself. This recipe allows the flavor of the crab to shine through and is delicious. With that being said, I am from the DC/Maryland area and couldn't resist adding a few dashes of old bay. Not enough to over power it but just enough to get a hint of the flavor. I will say that I think that the cheese isn't necessary in this dish, and traditionally crab isn't paired with cheese. The next time I make this I will eliminate the cheese all together as I believe it actually detracted from the dish. I will make this again with said changes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I wasn't crazy about this recipe but my husband really liked it. I did modify the recipe quite a bit. I added Old Bay seasoning, black pepper, garlic powder, and a dash of Tabasco. I also used really claw meat crab instead of the canned stuff. I don't think I will be making this again unless my husband request it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this recipe and it was very good. I did use light mayo and it turned out perfect. No problems at all. Next time I'll add just a little bit of Old Bay but mainly because I'm a Marylander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
ALMOST five stars. Although the quiche turned out to be very fluffy, smooth, and pretty tasty anyhow, it definitely needed a bit more flavor, and I wished I had some hot sauce on hand. I substituted cheddar cheese for swiss, diced yellow onions for green, and (as recommended) added an extra egg and a tablespoon of garlic powder. Don't skimp on pepper - I was afraid my guests would be overpowered by it, but it was nowhere close to enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Photo by Courtney & Dan
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
With the recommendations, this quiche turned out fantastic! We added the garlic and hot sauce, and substituted swiss for cheddar. We added an extra egg, and an extra can of crab. We baked it for a full hour, and even though the crust got a little dark, it turned out crumbly, buttery, and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney & Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
It was a hit at the river house and at work. My husband doesn't like quiche, but he ate this one up. Followed the advise on some of the other reviews and put 3 eggs, 2 6oz cans of crab,2-3 cloves of garlic, hot sauce, cayenne to taste. But I neede my veggies, so I shredded zuccini which my husband could hardly tell, and a little of the old bay seasoning. We couln't gobble it up fast enough. I made 2 of them, and shared and everyone wanted the recipe.Marcie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and I wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This actually turned out really well. I added the extra egg, as suggested by many reviewers, but instead of using regular mayo, I substituted it for Wasabi Mayo. It gave the quiche a delicious little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I didn't really care for this. Added 1 extra egg as many other reviewers did. If you like crabcakes you will probably like this, if you don't than you probably won't like this since it is very similar in texture to a crabcake. I did have to cook around an hour until it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I have been searching FOREVER for the perfect crab quiche recipe. This one gets 4 stars "as is" but 5 stars with modifications. (I read ALL of the 282 reviews!) So (1) decide if the crab is the focal point or just an ingredient. If the focus, you must use 2 cans of lump crab. If it's just an ingredient, 1 can of claw meat is OK. I used the 2 cans of lump. (2) I don't care for melted Swiss cheese (too tangy) & cheddar in a quiche can get oily when it melts, but I do like its flavor. So---I used 1 cup of fine shred cheddar and 1 cup of crumbled goat cheese, which presented a really good texture & flavor. (3) For sub-flavors without detracting from the crab: I VERY THINLY sliced about a dozen small button mushrooms, shredded 1/2 of a medium yellow onion, and saute'd them together in a tblspn each of olive oil & butter, seasoned with a little celery salt. Added about 1 1/2 cups baby spinach to the saute and cooked down . Layered into the pie crust in order: crab, mushroom mixture, cheeses. (4) Combined 4 eggs in a blender with 1 cup of half & half, dash of salt, cayenne & dry mustard. Pour over & baked 45 minutes at 350. Result: Perfect quiche where the CRAB is the star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States