Crab Quiche I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
The texture of this dish was nice but the taste was too bland, even for a quiche. If I were to make it again, I would add a dash of salt to enhance the flavors. Also, the dish didn't showcase the flavor of the crab as much as I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I felt this recipe should have more egg in it. I added a little bit more crab than it called for and I think that was the right call. Being from MD, I had to add some Old Bay to spice it up a little. Overall, an excellent easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great basic quiche recipe! We left out the pie crust and added a little thyme and nutmeg. Cooked perfectly and devoured in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheldyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I give it 4 stars because my husband and I have very different impressions of this; he didn't care for it and I absolutely love it. To him the egg & crab didn't meld well with the seasonings, I thought the flavors popped nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is an AWESOME dish! I made a couple of changes: I used milk as the recipe called for (2%); but I also added some deveined salad shrimp, portabella mushrooms, thinly sliced white onions (instead of the scallions - I forgot to get them when I went to the store), 16 oz. of real lump crab meat, 1 tsp of Zatarains liquid crab boil and Old Bay Garlic and Herb Seasoning. It wasn't as colorful as the one in the picture 'cos pretty much all of the ingredients were light or white, but it was better even than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMaryNorris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Overall I enjoyed this quiche! I believe simple flavors are best especially when you have an ingredient as delicate as crab. It is very easy to overpower crab with aromatics losing the essence of the crab itself. This recipe allows the flavor of the crab to shine through and is delicious. With that being said, I am from the DC/Maryland area and couldn't resist adding a few dashes of old bay. Not enough to over power it but just enough to get a hint of the flavor. I will say that I think that the cheese isn't necessary in this dish, and traditionally crab isn't paired with cheese. The next time I make this I will eliminate the cheese all together as I believe it actually detracted from the dish. I will make this again with said changes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I wasn't crazy about this recipe but my husband really liked it. I did modify the recipe quite a bit. I added Old Bay seasoning, black pepper, garlic powder, and a dash of Tabasco. I also used really claw meat crab instead of the canned stuff. I don't think I will be making this again unless my husband request it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this recipe and it was very good. I did use light mayo and it turned out perfect. No problems at all. Next time I'll add just a little bit of Old Bay but mainly because I'm a Marylander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
ALMOST five stars. Although the quiche turned out to be very fluffy, smooth, and pretty tasty anyhow, it definitely needed a bit more flavor, and I wished I had some hot sauce on hand. I substituted cheddar cheese for swiss, diced yellow onions for green, and (as recommended) added an extra egg and a tablespoon of garlic powder. Don't skimp on pepper - I was afraid my guests would be overpowered by it, but it was nowhere close to enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Photo by Courtney & Dan
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
With the recommendations, this quiche turned out fantastic! We added the garlic and hot sauce, and substituted swiss for cheddar. We added an extra egg, and an extra can of crab. We baked it for a full hour, and even though the crust got a little dark, it turned out crumbly, buttery, and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney & Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Smoked Salmon Quiche

Fantastic brunch recipe with smoked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States