Crab Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Ok - I changed the recipe quite a bit, and I know a lot of people hate that, but personally, I always appreciate it when people add onto recipes -- reading people's changes has REALLY strenghtened my own cooking skills. So that said, I'm going to give my changes here! I used the full 8 oz of cream cheese and 1 can of flaked crab meat (drained). I was out of garlic salt so used 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp of seasoned salt instead (2 tsp seemed like an awful lot!). I also stirred in two chopped green onions. I used the suggestion of another reviewer and rather than frying filled won ton wrappers, I spooned 1 T of refrigerated croissant dough into mini-muffin cups, filled each cup with the mixture, and baked for about 15 minutes. Too much crab for a Chinese crab puff, in my opinion (I've always had them with mostly cream cheese), but ignoring the original intent of the recipe, I REALLY like the idea of having "portable" crab dip appetizers! I will make them this way again for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I thought these needed some other seasonings, so I cut the garlic salt by half and added some Cavender's Greek Seasoning, parmesan cheese, and some green onion. For those that don't eat fried foods I put puff pastry into mini muffin cups then put about a teaspoon of the crab mixture in it and baked it for about 15 minutes at 375F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Would have given it 5 stars, but it needed fresh crushed garlic and chopped green onion. Make sure you serve these immediately after frying. They need to be hot and crisp. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I have made this recipe several times. I tried making them ahead for my Christmas appetizer menu. I wouldn't suggest making the formed puffs more than 24 hours ahead. It happened that I prepped more than I needed and cooked what remained on the second day. The won ton skins were a bit soggy and when cooked, were a bit chewy. They were still devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These are great and very easy. However, next time I will put more cream cheese or less crab to make it creamier. I will also add some minced green onions for flavor. But as it stands, this recipe is very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I just tried this recipe, and I must say that it is a great starter recipe. I did read reviews and mad some changes from them. I used 1 package of immatation crab meat, 2 packages of cream cheese, green onions, garlic salt, pepper. I made a couple tasted and then added 1 tsp sugar. And the end result was GREAT! Just like the resturants. Just cant fold as pretty..lol I used Melissas Won Ton Wraps, and folded like a square, and no problems with them opening at all. This is overall a very good base recipe. Kudos to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama2three
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Navasota, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
With the addition of minced green onions, garlic powder and a bit of creamy horseradish, these were excellent. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Easy, and delicious!!! My husband was so impressed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
These are insanely yummy and addictive...my husband doesn't care for cream cheese and my daughter has denounced all seafood, so my 4-year old son and I ate a ton of these while watching a video together. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
Prepared and dipped in duck sauce it was phenomenal. Served with an oriental chicken salad with almonds and a sweet & sour type dressing. Our kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States