Crab Imperial II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
My husband made this for dinner tonight. It was AWESOME!! The only thing he changed was instead of using bread crumbs, he used Ritz crackers for a richer crust on the bottom and he used clawmeat because it was on sale. Definitely a make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
It really is bizarre that some people modify the recipe then give it 2 or 3 stars. I found the most helpful suggestions coming from those who simply stated use less salt b/c Old Bay is salty. And, cut back on the Cayenne if you don't want it real spicy. Ritz Crackers I have found always taste good with dishes requiring bread crumbs. Crabmeat has a strong flavor all on its own. This recipe is very easy to adjust to your palate by simply going by what your tastes are. This was an awesome recipe for us and the phyllo cups I put mine in were heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Nice and spicy. I used the mixture to fill little phyllo dough cups, baked them in the oven and served them as an appetizer. Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Dear God in heaven, instead of writing a completely new recipe and an entire how-to manual, my 5-star rating is based on THIS recipe as written. A tweak here or there is one thing; but, please submit your total revamp as an original recipe with a photo of your creation. This recipe is delicious over chicken breasts or a filet. It is the absolute best over rockfish. Looking forward to the many NEW recipes to be submitted, rather than finding them in the reviews. Tiny rant over. Enjoy this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan St John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
This recipe made a very nice crab imperial, with quite a "spice" wallop. Those who prefer less spice should throttle back on the peppers and perhaps the mustard pwd. ---- I varied the recipe by skipping the old bay (didn't have any) and substituting fresh chopped parsley. I also substituted crushed low carb wasa bread for the bread crumbs.I added a crisscrosss of grated cheese on top. Overall a very good recipe , quick and easy! and my 15 yr. old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This is one great recipe - pan grilled some boneless chicken breast and then topped it off with the crab imperial in individual dishes before baking. Not too spicey for my group. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
DEEEEE-licious! Easy and quick to make. I portioned this into four 6-oz ramekins instead of the pie tin, and it was great. This is very spicy, so I think I will cut the cayenne in half next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I am born and raised in Maryland and currently live on the eastern shore of MD. This recipe will stand up to any crab imperial recipes out there. Bravo and thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob0815
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
god, i love my crab imperial. people in the UK just don't get crab like us folk from the mid-atlantic coast of the U.S. thankfully, i can still get good white crabmeat here, although it's very pricey. so worth it tho. we ate this guiltlessly while doing the low carb thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I used DJTRAINS suggestion about topping chicken breasts (I dredged mine in flour seasoned with Old Bay and pan fried until almost done as I was also trying another crab topped chicken recipe that called for that preparation) with the crab mixture and baked them in individual casseroles. The spice heat was perfect for us and the taste was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States