Crab Imperial II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The only change I made to this recipe was that I used 8oz lump crab meat and 8 oz mock crab(less expensive), plus used black pepper and regular mustard (not dried). It was out of this world. I baked in individual ramekins. We found that a little more fresh lemon juice squeezed over it at the table was to our liking. I can picture this being served with a small steak and fresh steamed asparagus. What I had on hand was buttered noodles and green beans. Will use leftovers to stuff mushroom caps, as there were 2 of us and this recipe serves 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Ann Moul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York Haven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Dear God in heaven, instead of writing a completely new recipe and an entire how-to manual, my 5-star rating is based on THIS recipe as written. A tweak here or there is one thing; but, please submit your total revamp as an original recipe with a photo of your creation. This recipe is delicious over chicken breasts or a filet. It is the absolute best over rockfish. Looking forward to the many NEW recipes to be submitted, rather than finding them in the reviews. Tiny rant over. Enjoy this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan St John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
what a disapointment I should of give more attention to the other reviewers. Thank goodness I did not offer this to guests as the submitter suggests. It was way too spicy, that kind of hot itch in the back of your throat/makes you cough kind of hot. It was dry and crumbly. Needed way more moisture from somewhere. Seems to be calling out for maybe cream cheese/ half and half, something creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
No one cared for this dip. The recipes with cream cheese just have a better meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Chapman Cain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Well, I think I will stick with my recipe that uses cream cheese instead of mayo, plus mine has Italian cheese mixed in it and on top. I read reviews where this one just isn't that creamy and mine is. Crab legs can get $$$ to make this recipe. But this recipe did have some dry mustard in it which mine doesn't So, I will give that a try the next time I make mine to add a little zing to it. Oh to everybody skip the salt, not needed with the Old bay and/or Cajun spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Schanhals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe sounds delicious and easy to prepare, but I have questions! We live in Nova Scotia, (eastern Canada), so what is in "Old Bay Seasoning" so I can try to find an equivalent mix? - Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I recieved this recipe about twenty years ago from my husband's secretary and somehow lost it so many thanks for posting it. I always used to fix this as a party dish, serving it hot with "toast points". Just spread the crab on and enjoy. Always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
It really is bizarre that some people modify the recipe then give it 2 or 3 stars. I found the most helpful suggestions coming from those who simply stated use less salt b/c Old Bay is salty. And, cut back on the Cayenne if you don't want it real spicy. Ritz Crackers I have found always taste good with dishes requiring bread crumbs. Crabmeat has a strong flavor all on its own. This recipe is very easy to adjust to your palate by simply going by what your tastes are. This was an awesome recipe for us and the phyllo cups I put mine in were heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made this in individual ramekins, used lump crab meat, and drizzled with melted butter before popping in the oven. Def. will be making this dish over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States