Crab Imperial II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this for New Year's Eve and found it very salty. I don't think I will make this again as it was quite costly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Loves Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I have made this a few times. Being from Maryland I know what Crab Imperial should taste like. This is a great recipe! We will be having it again tonight for our New Year's Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDAST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have only a few minutes before I can try this dish. I can't wait!....................Ahhh we just had dinner. It was great. I think next time i will cover it up. Recipe never did say. It was just a little dry. I added shrimp to mine. ;) Sarina Engle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I think it was due to the fact that i used can crab meat. I dont have a fish market near me and the local super market did not have any fresh lump crab meat. i would suggest not using the canned stuff. I love crab and was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
For some reason mine came out a little dry, but the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
As I am new to the culinary world, I like to try the recipes as is then tweek it the second time around. "Crab Imperial II" was very tasty, but we found it to be a tad dry. Next time I'll add a bit more lemon for taste and a created sauce broiled over it. That will indeed make this a 5 star for my family & I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was very good! I love the kick from the cayenne! This reminded me of a crab cake! I made it as written except I used imitation crab meat. I also made a mistake and added the fresh breadcrumbs TO the crab mixture AND ontop of the crab mixture! This was so good that my hubby wants me to serve it on Easter as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this for the Allrecipe's Allstar's group recipes for March 2012. It is basically, a baked and lightly seasoned crab. I used a good quality of steamed crab meat. I think that makes all the difference flavor wise. However, unless the crab meat is steamed at home, there is an issue with some shell pieces that are very annoying. 1 lb of crab is a little pricey to. I wish the recipe would have noted to sift through lump crab meat, when purchased, for those that have never used it. That would have been a slight pain anyway, but better than not. The only change I made was using Duke's lite mayo, as it was what I had on hand. I also baked them in 6 ramekins, sprayed lightly with pan spray, on a foil lined sheet. I mixed half the paprika directly into the breadcrumbs. Overall, this was actually quite quick to make. The flavor was also descent. I had thought it would be creamier, for some reason, but the worst part was still those small shell pieces. It made me not want to eat any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
5 STARS without a doubt! I am not a person to mess with the flavor of crabmeat. Therefore, I was a little hesitant to try this recipe. What I can tell you is it enhances, not changes, the flavor of the crabmeat. I used lump crabmeat but wouldn't hesitate to use jumbo lump. It is that good! I skipped the cayenne pepper but other than that, followed the recipe. I have only a little left over and I plan to stuff a couple fillets of flounder for tomorrow. I served this dish with a side of sweet potatoes and coleslaw. Thank you Al Peacock for sharing your recipe. It's a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I took the advice of other reviewers and used crushed Ritz crackers for the bottom. I also used backfin crab meat and more Old Bay...I'm from MD and 1/2 tsp of Old Bay just wasn't enough. Mine was a little bit on the dry side but maybe that was because I added more Old Bay. It was still really good and I'll make it again. BTW, I'm glad I used backfin; it has more flavor and cheaper then lump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States