Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 because I added a few things to it to make it a little tastier. It was a little bland on it's own. I reduced the cream cheese to 8 oz, and increased the mayo to 3 4ths of a cup. I squirted lemon juice on the crab to eliminate any fishy taste ( i do this to all my seafood). Then I added 2 shakes of cayanne and 3 tablespoons of horseradish. I baked it for 15 minutes, and then topped it with shredded cheddar and monteray jack cheese and baked it until the cheese was lightly golden. With these chages it is a def. 5 star recipe. I think this is a great starter crab dip. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
578 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
What's up, people?? Man, every now and then, I run across recipies on this website that cause me to want to hit somebody because they are so GOOD!!!! Well, this is one of them. I did everything that the recipe called for, but I did add a little sour cream and some sharp chedder cheese in the mixture. I didn't have any Old Bay Seasoning either so I just used a little Tony Chachere's seasoning salt (it's a Louisiana thang, baby). I also sprinkled the top of it with a little more cheese once I put it in the pan. I served it with an Italian loaf that I toasted in the oven for just a little bit to make the bread a little crispy...but don't keep it in too long are the bread will be too hard. Always make sure that you grease the bottom of the pan before you bake it......or just simply spray it with some non-stick cooking spray. Clean-up's a breeze and this dip didn't last long at all. To be honest, I ate it all myself cause I didn't want to share. I'll share the next one, but this was just too darn good.............FOR REAL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
441 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I started out making this as the recipe calls for, but when it was finished, I felt something was missing. I added 1 cup sour cream, 1t creamy horseradish, 1t lemon juice, and 1t Old Bay Seasoning. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This crab dip was delicious! I've had one like this in a restaurant with my boyfriend and I wanted to learn the recipe. I took some reviewer's suggestions and added a couple of tablespoons of sour cream, 1 tsp. of both lemon juice and old bay seasoning. My boyfriend even thinks that it's better than what we had in the restaurant. Thanks for the recipe. We'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
GREAT dip with some changes! I used an 8 oz pkg of cream cheese, 1 pound can of crab meat (fresh-Phillip's), and also added 1 T horseradish, 1 T Old Bay seasoning and 1/4 cup colby jack. I made it the way the recipe originally stated and it was very boring. We LOVE the taste of crab, but needed some more zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Like just about everyone else, I doctored up this great starter recipe to make a dip my husband doesn't want to share with anyone! I used only 8oz cream cheese, and half an onion sauteed with fresh garlic, 1 cup sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, old bay, and a healthy dousing of cholula hot sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Perfect as written. I didn't change anything...which is completely unusual for me. Will definately make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This was really good both warm and cold. I used shallots instead of onions and I didn't use any mayo in it. I served this with sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Fantastic!!! I came across this recipe about 6 months ago and make it at least once a month! I've found that adding a pinch (or two) of Old Bay Seasoning really enhances the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Super yummy! I brought this for a work lunch (bunch of nurses) and everyone gobbled it fast! I served it on top of whole wheat beer bread (from this website) and it was wonderful. Definately will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States