Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
okay here is the scoop. I tried this recipe just the way it is, I hate it when people just start adding things right away without trying it the T first. It doesn't work. It tastes like mayo. and the bowl gets soggy. so I changed it..lol I used 3 6oz cans of crabmeat, 1 cup sour cream, 2 8oz pkgs of cream cheese, I sauteed 1 half of a white onion with garlic and a tbsp of butter. added all spice, and garlic powder to taste. The secret is adding 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese grated. If I did anything wrong, I didn't add enough salt. I also dashed on some lemon pepper before I served it. I served it cold with Seattle sourdough bread toasted. MMMMMMmmm It was amazing! also used ritz crackers. It was gone in 5 mins and there were only 6 of us. :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cle Elum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
A huge hit at our cocktail get together!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I gave it 4 stars, because it is a great starter recipe, but needs a little more flavor. I also planned to serve it cold, so I didn't bake it. I reduced the onion by half, since it would be raw, increased the garlic to about 1 t. fresh minced garlic, added 2 oz shredded Colby Jack, and 2 oz shredded sharp cheddar. I also needed to add about 1/4 cup sour cream, along with the mayo, since I was serving it cold, and it would not be as soft otherwise. This seemed to be about perfect, flavor wise, but this was my first experience with canned crab meat, and I was not impressed. I bought the kind that said it had leg meat included, but it was still mostly mush. Next time I would use half canned, for the flavor, and half imitation so you still get chunks of crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
We love this dip! I cheated a little and used onion and chive cream cheese..so good and it adds to whatever is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cayly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Mixing the crab last and having big big chunks in the dip is key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe was also very good with some tweaking. I decreased the cream cheese to just 8oz. Add 1/2 cup sour cream, 3 tbsp horseradish sauce, Old Bay to taste. I used 1 pound can of "special" crab meat. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made this dip and use focaccia and frozen Louis Kemp chunked crab meat instead and it's a huge hit! People always ask me to bring this dip to their party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae Hale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Feel bad for only giving it three, like maybe it's something I did wrong (although I did use too much old bay seasoning) I wasn't that impressed with this, but maybe it's the canned crabmeat - and I should have gone with lump crab, or even imitation for more texture. It was okay :) Maybe read more reviews and use their suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
5 stars Excellant and simple. Added old bay and horseradish as others suggested. Requested for next holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is an AWESOME recipe.. I added about 2-3 tblspoons of OLD BAY seasoning to mine to give it a slight kick!!! Will be making this for Thanksgiving, Christmas, Superbowl....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States