Crab Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
How could anyone take this recipe, make it and then rave about how good it tastes. I do not know what part of the counrty Angela or anyone who gave this a good review are located but in Maryland putting the words crab and imitation in the same sentence is taboo. Although her recipe has the makings for a good dip I strongly recommend using REAL fresh crab meat ( from the Maryland Chesapeake Bay if you can ) and see the difference. Would anyone eat an imitation Filet Mignon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
double or more the crab used in the orginal recipe. The orginal amount was scant and did not give the dip enough flavor or texture. More than doubling the meat will allow the spread to hold together and spread better. I added quite a bit my tabasco and a dash of red pepper to give it a zing. The basic recipe is great, only ajustments to the amount of meat were necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Buelow
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Made this exactly as in recipe, but I used one can of Starkist Crabmeat along with the 1/2 lb of imitation crabmeat. I am serving this dip at a Super Bowl Party, and will put mini pumpernickle bread slices and tortilla chips for dipping. I think the shredded cheddar cheese should be cut in half, because I taste more cheese than crabmeat, and I did add extra hot sauce. Overall, a delicious, easy dip, that I think is fantasticly easy to whip up. I am certain all the people at the party will be enjoying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This dip is awesome! Prepare it the day before because the flavor is much better when it chills overnight. I added a Tblsp. of sugar to sweeten the lemon juice a little, and I added more hot sauce to zip up the flavor. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I omitted the celery and added cheddar cheese and served bubbling hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
There just wasn't enough crab in this dip, so we doubled the amount, and served with tortilla chips. Added extra Tabasco sauce as well, for without these additions it would be rather bland. Great reviews though with the additions, I will definitely be keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I had a ton of crab so I doubled the recipe for a pool party. I was concerned about the large amount of dip but the entire bowl was gone by the end of the party! Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. This one has a permanent home in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
I was told this was the most delicious crab dip ever. It was very quick and easy, and very tasty. I substituted two 6-oz. cans of crab meat for the imitation. Will definitely keep as a standard party dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I made this recipe, minus the hot pepper sauce because my husband doesn't like hot stuff. Went over really well, had a friend request I bring it over to their house again. Will make this dip again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
It's a wonderful receipe! I served to my in-law's and they just loved it. I served fresh veggies and crackers. Try it you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States