Crab Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Mrs Buelow
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Made this exactly as in recipe, but I used one can of Starkist Crabmeat along with the 1/2 lb of imitation crabmeat. I am serving this dip at a Super Bowl Party, and will put mini pumpernickle bread slices and tortilla chips for dipping. I think the shredded cheddar cheese should be cut in half, because I taste more cheese than crabmeat, and I did add extra hot sauce. Overall, a delicious, easy dip, that I think is fantasticly easy to whip up. I am certain all the people at the party will be enjoying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
We bought some krab that my husband didn't care to eat plain (as he usually does), so he asked me to make him a dip. This was good! I halved the ingredients except for the krab, which I kept around the half-pound, and I used yellow onion as it's what I had. I added some salt and pepper, and used both cheddar and pepper-jack cheeses for an extra kick. He seems to enjoy it! I added more hot sauce (maybe 8 or 10 drops), and he said you notice it more after you've eaten the dip. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
How could anyone take this recipe, make it and then rave about how good it tastes. I do not know what part of the counrty Angela or anyone who gave this a good review are located but in Maryland putting the words crab and imitation in the same sentence is taboo. Although her recipe has the makings for a good dip I strongly recommend using REAL fresh crab meat ( from the Maryland Chesapeake Bay if you can ) and see the difference. Would anyone eat an imitation Filet Mignon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Blah & bland! This is the most boring, bland & unnappealing crab recipe I've ever tasted. In fact, I'm surprised by all the good reviews. There's practically no seasonings, it doesn't call for enough crab, & it just tastes like sour cream. I tried adding more crab, hot sauce, worcestershire, garlic, salt, pepper, etc. to no avail - still bland. I'll keep looking for something better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This turned out pretty bland. Tasted like sour cream. I added chili sauce to give it some taste and it was better. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone liked it. I, however, was a little disappointed. Probably because as is, the recipe is pretty bland. I had to add quite a bit of seasoning to make this taste yummy. Also, 5 drops of hot sauce didn't do anything to this dip. It wasn't zippy at all. This is what I did to make it a little better: less lemon juice, a small amount of salt, a small amount of dried basil, some pepper and garlic powder, and more hot sauce. It still wasn't exactly what I was expecting, but it saved the dip (and all the money I spent on the crab!) and people ate most of it. Overall, a good base but definitely needs some additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I've made this for 2 parties and it is the first thing gone. I double up on the celery and green onions. Love this dip !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I had a ton of crab so I doubled the recipe for a pool party. I was concerned about the large amount of dip but the entire bowl was gone by the end of the party! Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. This one has a permanent home in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Thanks so much for this recipe! I made it for my son's 2nd birthday party ("Under the Sea" theme), and it was a HUGE hit. I received several recipe requests, and everyone raved. I added a little more crab, and I also added some salad shrip. To equal this out, I also had to add some more sour cream. But regardless, it was gone by the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States