Crab Crusted Grouper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
delish! This recipe was fantastic! I am trying to eat more fish, and prepared this way, i could eat it daily. Im sorry, i did make a few slight modifications- i used slightly less butter (smart balance light) and i didnt have any parmesan bread crumbs- i used some wheat saltines and added a dusting of parmesan. seriously, a very good recipe, im going to make this for company, i know it will be very well received and by the way, if you enjoy peppers, use more- looks very nice on a plate- lots of color. thank you- YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELINAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Incredible. Things got a little screwed up in the shopping list so I had to improvise. No peppers or onions so I used a mild salsa that was in the frig and no mozz cheese so I used American. It was great. It can only be better when I follow the directions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Pretty good. Will try fresh dungeness crab instead of canned next time. Grouper is not found much up here in the NW so will try recipe with cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is one of the best recipes I've used from this site (and I've used a lot!). It's a very pretty dish and is absolutely delicious. My husband and I hosted his firm's Christmas party last year and served this, along with filet mignon, as the entree. It got rave reviews. In fact, one of the guests has been to culinary school and said it was "divine". I'm not taking the credit, just saying this is a GREAT recipe. For budget purposes, we will sometimes substitute the grouper with schrod or tilapia, and it tastes just as good. One note, using fresh jalapeno instead of that in a jar makes a huge difference -- much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made this recipe for myself and my husband last night. I substituted the Grouper with Walleye, since we'd caught some the past weekend. I was worried about the change in fish, but it turned out great! I am also not a big fan of peppers, but we just diced them very fine, and I thought they were great in this recipe. I will DEFINITELY be making this again. Love the taste, and it's healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was fantastic! My fiance and I made it for Valentines dinner. I grew up next to the coast, and have had many grouper recipes, and this one is near tops. We are making it again this week for his mom's birthday. And I cant wait to make it for my dad! The only changes we made were that we used half ramona cheese bread crumbs and half italian bread crumbs b/c we didnt see parm crumbs at the store. Definitely give this one a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
WOW! This recipe is so good, the flavor is just right. I ommited the jalapeno peppers (don't really care for that kick) and it was perfect. I am sure this would also work to make stuffed mushrooms-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F18NavyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Fantastic recipe! Double the recipe for the topping. I tweaked this recipe by using minced red, orange and green pepper , scallion onions, Italian bread crumbs, fresh parmesan cheese, white fish and sprinkled the entire entree with grated parmesan, Romano and Asiago cheese. Baking the fish in a foil lined pan for 30 minutes created a very tender fish. I also sprinkled a small amount of extra butter over the fish before baking. I've made this recipe with filet of sole and left out the vegetables and it still was a hit with my kids. The result was the same.....fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
To date I have tried and reviewed hundreds of recipes on this site and without a doubt this recipe is one of the best, if not THE best. Also, I have had crab crusted grouper in restaurants all over the country, and I can't think of one as enjoyable as this. I made small changes, like substituting green pepper for the jalapeno, but ths recipe is absolutely perfect as it stands. For personal preference, however, I doubled the topping. I salted and peppered the filets before topping with the crab, then drizzled with a little melted butter before popping it into the oven. Finally, after baking I gave it a quick finish under the broiler just to brown and crisp the top. As for flavor, don't be fooled by the lack of seasoning in the recipe. It's clear the peppers, onions and Parmesan provide all the flavor you need. Hubby and I couldnt't have enjoyed it more. Simply beautiful and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
My family doesn't like fish, so I used chicken and the crab topping. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States