Crab Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Hmm, ok. After living in Nicaragua and having proper ceviche, this can't compare. It works but not like freshly caught fish. I used the fake crab meat as called for in the recipe, maybe it would be better with fresh/real crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I didn't change anything, I even used the cheap fake stuff that it calls for and it tasted good. I'm sure it is much better with real crab and adding chopped avocado as many have suggested doesn't sound bad either. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
What a fabulous recipe! Doubled the recipe and used one pound king crab and also sprayed the crab lightly with olive oil spritz bottle. I added about 4 jalapenos in addition to the serrano peppers. Made homemade guacamole, spread it on toasted corn tortillas and topped with crab mixture. Out of this world! Thanks for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
We made the ceviche with real crab and used 1/2T olive oil with 1/2T Lime Oil (as suggested by another reviewer).All ingredients were very finely chopped. I baked some Pepperidge Farm dessert shells and spooned the mixture into those just before serving. Made for a nice presentation.Thanks Louis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Even my grandson's loved this! I subbed jalapenos for serranos & I served it in big martini glasses on a bed of crushed tortilla chips as suggested by Caroline C. ...good idea! My grandsons thought they were so grown-up eating it! I did cut wayy back on the oil (I only sprinkled just a bit to help moisten) & I also cut back on the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Great recipe! I used real crab meat, omitted the oil and subbed green peppers for the serrano. This sat for awhile in the fridge and got better and better. Hubby enjoyed very much. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Really, really wonderful! I didn't use the oil (really not needed). I added some hot pepper sauce as some others suggested. I have made this same recipe in the past, but used tuna instead. Never even thought of using crab. I used real crab, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
just wonderful. i omitted the onion (they make me sick) and it was still awesome. thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This ceviche is SO good!! My family loved it and I will definitely make it again. I used real crab and added 2 cut up avocados and eliminated the olive oil. This is a great recipe and could be used for many occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
No imitation crab meat used in this house! Only the best from Costco. I added some spice with tabasco sauce and cooled it down with avocado. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States