Crab Cakes with Red Pepper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
The crab cakes weren't our favorite but the sauce, after some modification, was nice. I don't know that I would be able to say that, however, had I used the hefty amount of Dijon mustard called for - I reduced it substantially. Since shallots were in the ingredients I omitted the white part of the green onion. I chopped everything up real fine, not bothering with the blender or food processor for fear of overdoing it. For its characteristic light crispiness I coated the cakes in panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I only made the sauce, but it was very good! I think a little less dijon would have been fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
absolutely awesome sauce. all my guests were so impressed. I left out honey and shallots. soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I only needed a sauce and so my comment is just on the sauce. It's great, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were fabulous! I didn't really change a thing with the crabcakes except add the chives and parsley to taste. And for the sauce I added a little jalapeno and garlic for extra spice. You could use this sauce with pasta or chicken--it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great sauce! I use this sauce with the "My crab Cakes" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Like many other reviewers, I used my own favorite crab cake recipe, but did make the red pepper sauce. It was good... quick and easy, but not as outstanding as I would like. A little too much vinegar flavor, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was my first time making crab cakes and I was nervous because it is my bf's favorite. He said they are the best crab cakes he's ever had! I followed the recipe except that I added one cup of crumbled ritz like crackers to the mix instead of using french bread, and I did not coat the crab cakes in anything. The trick is to freeze them for 15 min or so before cooking, and they came out perfect! I cooked for 7 min on each side since they were solid, but you could cook for less. We cracked the crab ourselves so it oculdn't have been any better. I also made the red pepper sauce which is PERFECT for the cakes. I have made this twice now. The first time I put in too many shallots and it was too strong. The second time I stuck to the recipe and it was perfect. Instead of Dijon I used a spicy honey mustard which was really good. I made them for his parents too and they also said it was the best crab cakes they've ever had. I was so proud that I made them! This recipe is DEFINATELY worth making, even with the time it took to crack the crab. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I have only made the sauce and it was so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This sauce was delicious! We served it last night with Paula Deans crab cakes. My friends and hubby raved! It was alittle salty so I added extra red pepper and a dash of half and half. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States