Crab Cakes with Red Pepper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
The crab cakes weren't our favorite but the sauce, after some modification, was nice. I don't know that I would be able to say that, however, had I used the hefty amount of Dijon mustard called for - I reduced it substantially. Since shallots were in the ingredients I omitted the white part of the green onion. I chopped everything up real fine, not bothering with the blender or food processor for fear of overdoing it. For its characteristic light crispiness I coated the cakes in panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I only made the sauce, but it was very good! I think a little less dijon would have been fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
absolutely awesome sauce. all my guests were so impressed. I left out honey and shallots. soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I only needed a sauce and so my comment is just on the sauce. It's great, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were fabulous! I didn't really change a thing with the crabcakes except add the chives and parsley to taste. And for the sauce I added a little jalapeno and garlic for extra spice. You could use this sauce with pasta or chicken--it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great sauce! I use this sauce with the "My crab Cakes" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Like many other reviewers, I used my own favorite crab cake recipe, but did make the red pepper sauce. It was good... quick and easy, but not as outstanding as I would like. A little too much vinegar flavor, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was my first time making crab cakes and I was nervous because it is my bf's favorite. He said they are the best crab cakes he's ever had! I followed the recipe except that I added one cup of crumbled ritz like crackers to the mix instead of using french bread, and I did not coat the crab cakes in anything. The trick is to freeze them for 15 min or so before cooking, and they came out perfect! I cooked for 7 min on each side since they were solid, but you could cook for less. We cracked the crab ourselves so it oculdn't have been any better. I also made the red pepper sauce which is PERFECT for the cakes. I have made this twice now. The first time I put in too many shallots and it was too strong. The second time I stuck to the recipe and it was perfect. Instead of Dijon I used a spicy honey mustard which was really good. I made them for his parents too and they also said it was the best crab cakes they've ever had. I was so proud that I made them! This recipe is DEFINATELY worth making, even with the time it took to crack the crab. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I have only made the sauce and it was so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This sauce was delicious! We served it last night with Paula Deans crab cakes. My friends and hubby raved! It was alittle salty so I added extra red pepper and a dash of half and half. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States