Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
Loved them.. I made a lime aoili to go with it. Yum-Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
Great recipe. I found that you don't need the egg if you prefer them w/o. Forming the cakes into balls first and flattening once the first side begins to brown is essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I made these for a wedding reception last night! (25 people) They were absolutely perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I've been living in New England for a year and enjoying the local seafood. Who knew the best crab cakes I've tasted would come right from my own kitchen! The taste of crab really shines through in this recipe (not like some I've had that are more seasoning than seafood) and the lime/cilantro mayo is the perfect accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
As a personal chef, I may try a dozen or so recipes before I settle on one to present to a customer. This is where I stop on crab cakes! These are the best I've ever had. A better name would be crab burgers. Make sure to use lump meat because they really just hold themselves together. And the dipping sauce is wonderful. My husband made me make them two nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
These crab cakes are amazing-probably the best I have ever had! I used light mayo and it did not make a difference. I tasted the sauce by itself and thought it was just ok but it is absolutely delicious on the crab cakes. Make sure you use real lump crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Absolutely perfect! I used dried basil and it still came out well. I "pasteurized" the egg yolk for the sauce by briefly (about a minute) dipping it into "just boiled water (somewhere between 70-90F).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
A bit time consuming to make, in fact, I skipped making the sauce completely. But very good. Everyone at my party raved about them. However, this recipe calls for 4 lbs crabmeat, which was ridiculous at $21/lb. I only used 1 lb and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I prepared this recipe as an appetizer for a dinner we were having with friends and everyone loved it. I would definitely make it again. Even though the crab cakes were delicious on their own, the sauce makes them even more delectable. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Awesome!!! These were the best crab cakes that I have ever had!! I must admit I did make some changes, I added about 1/2 cup each of fresh chopped celery and onion, and about 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. And I broiled them for about 10 to 12 minutes, and they were the most wonderful crab cakes! My husband and son really enjoyed them. (The celery stayed a little crunchy, which my husband liked). Will certainly keep this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States