Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
First time ever making these, was much, much easier than I expected. Did not have Old Bay seasoning so I had to substitute. Even without, these were really, really good! Did not make the sauce, used sour cream and mayo with dill instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
1st off let me say... Oh my gosh!!!We made these last night for some friends and everyone LOVED them.. We cut the recipe in half and had enough for 10 people... I used 1lb of jumbo and 1lb of reg crab meat.To form them I used 1/4 measuring cup... perfect size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim & Chris Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My search for a great crab cake recipe continues.The crab cake was just ok and the cilantro/lime sauce was not that good at all. We ended eating it with tartar sauce. I wasnt so disappointed with the taste of the crab cakes, more so then i was the money i spend on buying the fresh, wild caught blue crab meat for just mediocre crab cakes. It cost me $18 just for ONE pound! I scaled it down to four. The crab cakes did not hold together that well either. They were really delicate. I more than doubled the old bay and still could barely taste it. These were just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
A quote from my husband -- "Ridiculously GOOD!" I had to size the recipe down to 6 servings -- and now we wish we would have doubled it! It was very good. I browned ours in a small amount of olive oil. I also did not have the seafood seasoning it called for - so I used Lawry's seasoned salt, a little ground pepper and a dash of garlic salt. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
very good recipe, first time I tried it and everybody like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I loved this recipe. This is the first crab cake recipe that I tried that was successful for me. The next time I make it, the only thing I will change is to add a little bit more seasoning (either old bay or salt and pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Good. I had to cut recipe because I only had one pound of crab. My 3 and 6 year old liked them, but I wouldn't say my search for the perfect crab cake is over. I didn't use the sauce suggested, I used a different crab cake sauce that I found on this site that is EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I didn't rate this high because I didnt think it was great. It was good but I had to adjust the sauce, it was too oily and so I added more lime and cilantro. It could be because I had changed the recipe to yield 5 servings and some recipes don't adjust well. I would be interested in if any one else had the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I have tried this and my friends loved it. The next time I make it, I'could probably experiment with some variety of sauces made from canned Campbell soups for convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These tasted pretty good. It was my first attempt to make them, and i cut the recipe for only three people. But the sauce on the side i didnt not think i would like and my husband was skeptical seeing to as he helped me make them. However we were both pretty impressed with it, and we will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States