Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Delicious! I was nervous to make crab cakes for the first time but this recipe made it so easy. I only made half the recipe, including "half an egg". I used canned special white crabmeat which worked well, crushed saltines in food processor, and eyeballed the seasonings. I baked in the oven at 400 degrees until lightly browned on both sides. Dolloped cakes with red pepper sauce found on this site, which was also wonderful. Served with green salad and cheese grits. Definitely a crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made this easy recipe last week for my wife's family reunion on the outer banks. so easy, almost effortless, and right on delicious crabcakes. thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefct

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Whitesboro, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtlemom76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
AWESOME recipe! Have made this many, many times! My friends love to come eat when we make these. I do however add a bit of spice brown mustard & a dash of tabasco. We also broil them instead of fried, not as greasy! I also use Vegetable Ritz crackers adds some extra color! Thanks so much for this recipe they are surely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Styron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
These were really good and easy to make. We cut the recipe down by a lot (we only had about 1/2 lb of crab meat), but it still turned out great. Like someone else said, forming the cake in a ball first and then flattening it while cooking really helps keep it together. Made a lime aioli with it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
First time I ever made crab cakes. A few modifications: used 8 oz of crab meat. 12 oz of shrimp (Tangy Shrimp) and 6 oz of salmon (Chili Garlic BBQ Salmon). blended the fish in a food processor. modified the ingredients a bit since it was less than 4 pounds. Also, on the sauce, for some reason the vegetable oil killed the fragrance of the cilantro. So I added more cilantro, lime juice and an egg. Turned out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
We had our annual Seafood Fest. Both sides of the family absolutely loved them. Of course i had to substitute a few items since i did not have them, but the main ingredients made this dish spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I give these a 5 for taste: the lemon zest was so yummy and the crab flavor really comes through. I had a VERY hard time getting these to hold together though. I used kitchen scales to weigh 4 lbs. of canned lump meat (8-12oz cans drained), but those stinkers fell apart in the pan. We called it crab heap instead of crab cakes and ate a ton (my 6 year old especially!). Did add 2 tbs. green onion, and made my own lemon/Old Bay aioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These were delicious! We used olive oil instead of vegetable oil though. Also, I added a bit of sugar to the sauce because otherwise it was a bit tart for our tastebuds. Overall, they held together nicely and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent!! But, they were very hard to keep together. My first 2 fell apart completely. Oh, I made a different sauce (red pepper sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States