Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brittany Bartos
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I made these crab cakes today for lunch. I only used 1 pound of lump crab, the good stuff is expensive! It made enough for 10 medium sized patties. (3 for me, 3 for my boyfriend for a full entree with steamed broccolini and some toasted garlic bread, 1 for a snack, and 3 more for lunch the next day for me!) So for my 1 pound of crab, I used one full egg, 1/4 cup crushed saltines, 1/4 cup Japanese Kewpie mayo, about a half teaspoon of lemon zest, a bit of the chopped fresh basil, about a small handful or so of Panko bread crumbs, a little bit of chopped scallions, and about a half teaspoon or so of the Old Bay seasoning. Formed them and put in the fridge. Definitely let them get cold before frying! Then fried a couple minutes on each side with some veggie oil on medium heat. When done, let dry on same paper towels to absorb oil. AWESOME. For my sauce I stuck to the sort of Japanese inspired idea, I took some kewpie Japanese mayo, added some some zest and a small bit of lime juice, and a dollop of sriracha sauce. It came out tangy and zesty and spicy and creamy! My boyfriend said it was too lime-y so next time I would make his with no lime (pretty much just sushi style spicy mayo) and mine with the lime because I liked it. I might add more old bay seasoning and a little less lemon zest next time to the cakes. Overall though, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Bartos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
The crab cakes were good but thought there was too much sauce. Could cut the sauce recipe down to an eighth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Switch it up! Basic recipe is good but I changed several things. 2 lbs. lump crab meat, 4 tablespoons fresh chopped basil, 2 tablespoon fresh chopped cilantro, 1 cup Panko bread crumbs, 1/2 cup Tartar sauce instead of mayo, zest from 2 lemons, 2 beaten eggs, 1/2 teaspoons Old Bay, 1/2 teaspoon Creole seasoning, dash of Tabasco. Delicious! You can really taste the crab, plus a lot of flavor. Made 3 1/2 cup size patties and 11 1/4 cup size patties. Love it! You can really taste the crab and it has great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Susan Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Just made these for lunch. Awesome! And the sauce makes it Thanks for sharing. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole0227
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Love the recipe! I messed up the prep a bit, and it was a little mushy, nonetheless very tasty! The dipping sauce was a huge hit also... I'm still learning to cook (period) I will definitely try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Not good, but not bad either. Lacked flavor to a disappointing degree and needed more binding to stay together in the plan. I'll look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My girlfriend and I made this for a Christmas Eve dinner for just the two of us. It was fantastic, and though we quartered the original recipe, we also steamed some clams and made some pasta with pesto to go with it all. Overall, it was about as perfect a meal as I could imagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is the first crab cake recipe I ever tried, and I'm not going to try any others. I was attracted to it because I have to eat gluten-free, and I figured the small amount of filler would make it easier to adapt. And I was right. I use gluten-free corn-flake crumbs, because I always keep them on hand, but with such little filler, I think rice crumbs or any GF cracker or bread crumb would work. After making this many times, I double the Old Bay, which gives it a little more traditional flavor, but still doesn't overpower the wonderful lemon and basil flavor. I also add a little diced shallot. As far as the sauce, I love it, and it goes wonderfully with the crab cakes. I advise you to try it so you don't miss out. However, I don't make the sauce as directed because of the raw egg. I add the lime juice and spices to a half-half mixture of mayonnaise and sour cream. Not only is it safer, but faster and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Made this with tuna. Added more of the Old Bay and used bread crumbs instead of crushed saltines. Was delicious!! Light and the flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was just wonderful! For the batter, we dipped in an egg wash. Then tossed in a mixture of flour, bread crumbs, old bay and a 5 pepper seasoning. Saltine crackers were added in both the crab mix and batter.Next time I might try in peanut oil. Fantastic recipe ! ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States