Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Fantastic!! I've read how others had problems with them falling apart. It is pretty loose but they seemed to do well for me, maybe the crab cake gods were smiling down into my kitchen or something close to that. LOL They were very good, as the recipe is written but I do look forward to trying a couple suggestions, such as green onions and maybe some Old Bay seasoning, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
These were amazing. Accidently added the crackers to the mixture instead of rolling them in them which I think was nicer. Added a little parsley and thai seasoning.Also used canned crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very good! However, I did add 1/3 cup of breadcrumbs to the mix just to help hold the crab mixture together. Otherwise, did everything else as directed and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I'm sure this is a great recipe but I think I lack the skills to make it, lol. I can cook, don't get me wrong, but this one just didn't work for me. My crab meat - or should I say fake crab meat... which I'm sure is why it failed... didn't seem to bind well with anything and so I just had flaky pieces of crab that didn't stay together long enough to reach the frying pan. I have no idea if I needed to have cut or blended the crab smaller, I tried that and it didn't really help much. I added biscuit mix in and dumped the crumbs into the crab mix to dry it up a bit and make more of a mush. ... that helped but I still lacked the frying skills. So I gave up. It's not often I give up on a recipe and it has nothing to do with the recipe itself as others obviously were able to make it just fine. So I chalk this one up as a "I need to learn to work better with sea food" on my list. 4 Stars because it's a simple recipe, tasted fine. However I won't try this one again until I improve my skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drakyl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Loved this recipe!!!--Mine turned out messy but fantastic tasting, using breadcrumbs and ground-nut oil (a whim). Great with Chinese sweet chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Very good. I used 1/2 the bread crumbs and, being southern, I had to add some cajun spice. The trick to keeping the patties together is to not turn them until it is absolutely necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISOUTHERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe made grocery store "canned" claw crab meat taste good, so I can only imagine how great these would be with good/fresh crab meat! I added some finely diced green and red bell pepper for a little texture/flavor, as well as bit of green onion. I hadn't read the recipe closely, apparently, and added some crackers TO the crab mix. No biggie, I just crushed a little more to roll the balls in. I chose to then flatten the coated balls into more a cake like shape. I used a dash of EVOO and 1TBSP butter to fry 4 patties in (1/2 the recipe made 4 small-medium patties for me...more than enough for me and Mr. LTH). Mr. LTH isn't even a crab cake fan and he commented multiple times how great dinner was this evening. I served the crab cakes w/"Mustard Cream Sauce" from this site, which is a fantastic compliment to these crab cakes. THANKS for the recipe, Mike Skirko!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made these last night, my 4 year old son loved them! Instead of crackers I used Panko crumbs and I added garlic salt and a little steak seasoning. Like a few other reviewers, I had a hard time keeping some of them together, but it seemed to be because the lumps of meat where too big. I just let them break apart in the oil and cooked them the same; those ones were the perfect bite size for my kids :) I ate mine with cocktail sauce and the boys used ketchup (blech lol, kids and ketchup xD) I will definitely make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Great recipe w/o changes. I used Ritz crackers to cover and butter and oil to fry. I like Worcestershire sauce so i added more than a dash. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Patton Humphrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baumholder, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States