Crab Cake Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUSIECUEZ
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am serving crab cakes tomorrow night at our little NYE gathering. This sauce will be perfect! I did read at least half the reviews and I too made some changes: added garlic & onion powder, a little salt, some dried dill, and a little more lemon juice. I can't wait to taste it tomorrow when all of the flavors come together! It tastes pretty good right now! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIECUEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, used hot salsa as well. - very very bland, tasted like a watered-down weak salsa. The sauce is suppose to accent or compliment the crab cake - sorry but i dont see how this was rated so high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Awesome flavour, I halved the recipe and it still made heaps, leftovers were devoured very quickly the next day as a dip, served with corn chips - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this sauce to accompany the "Best Ever Crab Cakes" submitted by LINDACHEK on this site. It was great! (The crab cakes were great too). It has a cool taste to it, and just a little heat. Some people have said that this sauce is bland, so if you tend to like bland foods (as we tend to), this may be the sauce for you! I didn't have a blender, so I used a food processor and made it really smooth. This recipe did make WAY more sauce than we needed, so next time, I'll probably cut it down to 1/4 of the recipe. Thanks for the great recipe! We will make this again and again, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1015

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This sauce is fantastic. The only change I made was using hot sauce instead of salsa. I served it with Crab Cakes Chiarello (also found on this site). Everyone loved it and asked me to make them again the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Perfect sauce. Easy to prepare and can store in frig for a few days if you are lucky enough to have leftover crabcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This came out VERY delicious! It seemed to bring out the sweetness in the crab. It was also good on chips! (to use as a chip dip I would add a little bit more salsa). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I found this recipe to be a little bland and it makes way too much. I prefer to use sauces sparingly as they should complement a dish, not smother it! If I were to use this recipe again, I would half the mayonaise and sour cream. I already omitted the yogurt. I would also increase the salsa to a half cup and double the lemon juice. Add a little salt to counter the sweetness inheirent in the other ingredients. Sometimes sauces become stronger as they set. I did not find this to be the case as the dairy based products contain the hotness. Therefore, increase the heat to taste when mixing by adding drops of hot sauce. The recipe did set-up nicely in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
A very nice sauce that goes well with all types of seafood. Could be improved with a herb such as tarragon, dill or fresh basil, depending on the context.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Taste is great, nice kick. Beware, this says serves 12. I'd say more like serves 30+. I prepared this with a mini crab cakes recipe (makes 25 minis) and we didn't even use half of it (despite everyone loving it). Sauce is runny even after refrigeration. Not a big deal but next time I might try to concoct a modification to thicken it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States