Crab Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
CAME OUT EXCELENT. I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE PHYLLO DOUGH ? IT SAYS PLAIN AS DAY TO USE "store-bought phyllo cups" SO YOU DONT NEED THE SHEETS. MY LOCAL STORE SELLS THESE MINI 15 TO A PACK CUPS. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE IS THAT I BAKE THEM FOR ABOUT 3-5 MINS TO GET THEM WARM AND CRISPY, AND SO THE CRAB MIXTURE WILL MELT JUST A LITTLE. YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Very tasty and pretty! I doubled the recipe and made them for a party - got many compliments. I have to agree with someone else who said there may be too much cream cheese, though. The amount of mixture this recipe makes far-exceeds the amount I could ever stuff into 15 small phyllo cups. And, the cream cheese was good, but I think it stole some of the seafood flavor from it. I will use less cream cheese next time. Also, I sprinkled Old Bay seasoning on top instead of cocktail sauce, which was tasty. And, I took someone else's advice and baked the cups for 3 - 4 minutes to take the chill off before serving. I will definitely make these again, thanks Jill!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Could not be easier or tastier! I did follow previous reviewer's suggestions and only used 8oz of cream cheese. Glad I did. Turned out to be a perfect blend of crab and cream cheese. Also I added a teaspoon of diced pimento for additional color and flavor. I did wind up filling 20 shells so I'm glad I bought two packages. As for the people that complained about the lack of phyllo instructions....here they are....go to the store and buy two boxes of phyllo shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I used only 6 ounces of cream cheese (with 6 oz of crab meat) instead of the recomended 16 oz. I prefer a stronger crab flavor. In addition to the dill, parsley, and garlic, I added paprika, cayenne pepper, and black pepper (there is enough salt already in the canned crab). I tried wrapping the mixture in both phyllo paper to make a triangle (zig-zag pattern) and won ton wrappers. I served them with sweet and sour sauce for an oriental flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I made this recipe but added tabasco to it for a kick and also made my own puffs. Served at a wedding for 300 and everyone raved. None left on the platters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I gave this recipe 5 stars because when I make it I assemble them and bake them on a cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. I can't imagine eating them cold! Give this a shot and you'll just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I made a couple of changes to it. I used less cream cheese than was asked for. I also baked them for a few minutes. They were absolutely delicious. I set them out and they were gone in less than 20 minutes. I had to send my husband out to get more phyllo shells. I'm definitely planning on making these again. I didn't have a single complaint. Even my husband who does not eat seafood of any kind had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
These are great! Everyone who has had them has raved about them and asked for more! So far I have made them for several holiday parties. I didn't use the cocktail sauce though, just left them as they are, let's just say they didn't last long. I don't think I could have made enough, they are simply that good! Thanks for such a simple easy recipe :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFGRL
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Wonderful. Doubled the amount of crab and other spices (added a bit of cayenne for heat) and kept the amount of cream cheese the same. Used pre-made, frozen mini phyllo cups, heated up for 5 minutes in a warm oven before filling. This helped to "melt" the crab mixture a bit. I topped each bite with a tiny dab of cocktail sauce (mixture of ketchup and horseradish), and a tiny sprig of fresh dill. Took it to a family potluck and got rave reviews...even from those who didn't eat seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I really liked these. I followed everyone else and only used 1 package of cream cheese, but I did use a can of of shredded crab. I made them with phyllo pastries (so the sheets of the annoying dough). I cut the phyllo into squares, brush it lightly with melted butter, put a small amount in the middle, fold the four corners (almost as if you were making a pyramid) and squeeze just above the filling(the filling might break out the bottom, so try not to squeeze too close to the filling). I hope that isn't too confusing, I suggest playing with phyllo dough to find out what works for you, but make sure the dough you're not working on is covered with a damp cloth to prevent it from drying out (which happens very quickly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkestStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States