Crab Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
CAME OUT EXCELENT. I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE PHYLLO DOUGH ? IT SAYS PLAIN AS DAY TO USE "store-bought phyllo cups" SO YOU DONT NEED THE SHEETS. MY LOCAL STORE SELLS THESE MINI 15 TO A PACK CUPS. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE IS THAT I BAKE THEM FOR ABOUT 3-5 MINS TO GET THEM WARM AND CRISPY, AND SO THE CRAB MIXTURE WILL MELT JUST A LITTLE. YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I gave this recipe 5 stars because when I make it I assemble them and bake them on a cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. I can't imagine eating them cold! Give this a shot and you'll just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
as is this recipe is not that great but if you try tsome of these changes it is excellent. I use 1 thing of cream cheese not 2 and I would also use instead the imitation crab meat as opposed to the meat in the can, it is a better taste and texture and I use more like 10 oz of it. add in 2 tsp of Old Bay seasoning and 1 tsp of hot pepper sauce and some finely minced red pepper. Pipe it out using a baggy with a cut corner onto cucumber slices to counteract the spiciness and you will have a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWHIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I made a couple of changes to it. I used less cream cheese than was asked for. I also baked them for a few minutes. They were absolutely delicious. I set them out and they were gone in less than 20 minutes. I had to send my husband out to get more phyllo shells. I'm definitely planning on making these again. I didn't have a single complaint. Even my husband who does not eat seafood of any kind had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Could not be easier or tastier! I did follow previous reviewer's suggestions and only used 8oz of cream cheese. Glad I did. Turned out to be a perfect blend of crab and cream cheese. Also I added a teaspoon of diced pimento for additional color and flavor. I did wind up filling 20 shells so I'm glad I bought two packages. As for the people that complained about the lack of phyllo instructions....here they are....go to the store and buy two boxes of phyllo shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I made this recipe but added tabasco to it for a kick and also made my own puffs. Served at a wedding for 300 and everyone raved. None left on the platters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
TOO MUCH CREAM CHEESE! I re-made this with 1 package of cream cheese and it was delicious! This is so easy and impressive I am using it for all my parties from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Very tasty and pretty! I doubled the recipe and made them for a party - got many compliments. I have to agree with someone else who said there may be too much cream cheese, though. The amount of mixture this recipe makes far-exceeds the amount I could ever stuff into 15 small phyllo cups. And, the cream cheese was good, but I think it stole some of the seafood flavor from it. I will use less cream cheese next time. Also, I sprinkled Old Bay seasoning on top instead of cocktail sauce, which was tasty. And, I took someone else's advice and baked the cups for 3 - 4 minutes to take the chill off before serving. I will definitely make these again, thanks Jill!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Yum, these were good. I doubled the recipe, but not the cream cheese. I added salt and pepper, a tsp. of green onion, a tsp. of Old Bay Seasoning and a tsp. of Franks Red Hot sauce. I chose to bake mine at 350 for 15 minutes and broil for 5 at the end to brown the top just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
Great, yummy recipe. My guests gobbled them all up and wanted more. However, the phyllo instructions are not good. I used premade phyllo shells - turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States