Crab Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
Overall taste in this recipe was good. But the instructions on how to use the phillo was poor. How many sheets to use....??? I made it but it didn't turn out as good as I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
Kids love these! These crab bites were a cinch to make and so quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
It sounded good, and I liked it, but none of my guests even finished their first taste. Too much cream cheese. Phyllo dough directions were not specified well. I do not think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJMARGARITA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
Great, yummy recipe. My guests gobbled them all up and wanted more. However, the phyllo instructions are not good. I used premade phyllo shells - turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I made this recipe but added tabasco to it for a kick and also made my own puffs. Served at a wedding for 300 and everyone raved. None left on the platters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
CAME OUT EXCELENT. I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE PHYLLO DOUGH ? IT SAYS PLAIN AS DAY TO USE "store-bought phyllo cups" SO YOU DONT NEED THE SHEETS. MY LOCAL STORE SELLS THESE MINI 15 TO A PACK CUPS. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE IS THAT I BAKE THEM FOR ABOUT 3-5 MINS TO GET THEM WARM AND CRISPY, AND SO THE CRAB MIXTURE WILL MELT JUST A LITTLE. YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Very tasty and pretty! I doubled the recipe and made them for a party - got many compliments. I have to agree with someone else who said there may be too much cream cheese, though. The amount of mixture this recipe makes far-exceeds the amount I could ever stuff into 15 small phyllo cups. And, the cream cheese was good, but I think it stole some of the seafood flavor from it. I will use less cream cheese next time. Also, I sprinkled Old Bay seasoning on top instead of cocktail sauce, which was tasty. And, I took someone else's advice and baked the cups for 3 - 4 minutes to take the chill off before serving. I will definitely make these again, thanks Jill!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
TOO MUCH CREAM CHEESE! I re-made this with 1 package of cream cheese and it was delicious! This is so easy and impressive I am using it for all my parties from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
These are great! Everyone who has had them has raved about them and asked for more! So far I have made them for several holiday parties. I didn't use the cocktail sauce though, just left them as they are, let's just say they didn't last long. I don't think I could have made enough, they are simply that good! Thanks for such a simple easy recipe :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFGRL
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Took suggestions to use less cream cheese, so I tried one 8 oz pkg. Next time I'll use even less because we felt it still had to much. Very easy to make & taste better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States