Crab Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Didn't like this recipe. There was very little flavor and I added extra garlic. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Tierney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
If I could give half stars, I would have given this recipe 4.5 stars. I made a couple changes. I used an 8 ounce package of imitation crab meat and only 1 package of cream cheese. I used the food proccessor to finely chop the crab meat. I also added more garlic and sauteed it in a splash of white wine along with 1 chopped shallot. I had enough filling to fill 40 phyllo shells. I hate cocktail sauce so I omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Wonderful. Doubled the amount of crab and other spices (added a bit of cayenne for heat) and kept the amount of cream cheese the same. Used pre-made, frozen mini phyllo cups, heated up for 5 minutes in a warm oven before filling. This helped to "melt" the crab mixture a bit. I topped each bite with a tiny dab of cocktail sauce (mixture of ketchup and horseradish), and a tiny sprig of fresh dill. Took it to a family potluck and got rave reviews...even from those who didn't eat seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I gave this recipe 5 stars because when I make it I assemble them and bake them on a cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. I can't imagine eating them cold! Give this a shot and you'll just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Could not be easier or tastier! I did follow previous reviewer's suggestions and only used 8oz of cream cheese. Glad I did. Turned out to be a perfect blend of crab and cream cheese. Also I added a teaspoon of diced pimento for additional color and flavor. I did wind up filling 20 shells so I'm glad I bought two packages. As for the people that complained about the lack of phyllo instructions....here they are....go to the store and buy two boxes of phyllo shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
They sounded great, but I wasn't impressed with them. I doubled the recipe but only used 12 oz cream cheese - should have doubled everything and used only 8 oz cream cheese. I think next time I will also use imitation crab meat and not the canned. I think that would give it more flavor. I will try these again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Took suggestions to use less cream cheese, so I tried one 8 oz pkg. Next time I'll use even less because we felt it still had to much. Very easy to make & taste better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
These are great! Everyone who has had them has raved about them and asked for more! So far I have made them for several holiday parties. I didn't use the cocktail sauce though, just left them as they are, let's just say they didn't last long. I don't think I could have made enough, they are simply that good! Thanks for such a simple easy recipe :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFGRL
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
TOO MUCH CREAM CHEESE! I re-made this with 1 package of cream cheese and it was delicious! This is so easy and impressive I am using it for all my parties from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Very tasty and pretty! I doubled the recipe and made them for a party - got many compliments. I have to agree with someone else who said there may be too much cream cheese, though. The amount of mixture this recipe makes far-exceeds the amount I could ever stuff into 15 small phyllo cups. And, the cream cheese was good, but I think it stole some of the seafood flavor from it. I will use less cream cheese next time. Also, I sprinkled Old Bay seasoning on top instead of cocktail sauce, which was tasty. And, I took someone else's advice and baked the cups for 3 - 4 minutes to take the chill off before serving. I will definitely make these again, thanks Jill!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States