Crab Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Absolutely loved these. They do not have a strong taste but that's a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Made this for Christmas Eve and they didn't go as fast as I thought they would. Had a lot left over. They were too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I used half the cream cheese. There aren't phyllo shells where I live, so instead I used nori - seaweed wrap which is used to roll sushi. I used the small ones designed for onigiri (rice balls). Just put a small spoonful on each sheet and rolled them up, then heated them for 5 minutes in the oven. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I made a couple of changes to it. I used less cream cheese than was asked for. I also baked them for a few minutes. They were absolutely delicious. I set them out and they were gone in less than 20 minutes. I had to send my husband out to get more phyllo shells. I'm definitely planning on making these again. I didn't have a single complaint. Even my husband who does not eat seafood of any kind had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
It was easy but that does not matter much when it ends up in the trash. It was terrible. Of 12 people served, one thought it was OK. You can not taste the crab, could have just used dill weed and cream cheese. would probably be good if it were done with more of a crab salad type filling. Will not do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I used only 6 ounces of cream cheese (with 6 oz of crab meat) instead of the recomended 16 oz. I prefer a stronger crab flavor. In addition to the dill, parsley, and garlic, I added paprika, cayenne pepper, and black pepper (there is enough salt already in the canned crab). I tried wrapping the mixture in both phyllo paper to make a triangle (zig-zag pattern) and won ton wrappers. I served them with sweet and sour sauce for an oriental flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
as is this recipe is not that great but if you try tsome of these changes it is excellent. I use 1 thing of cream cheese not 2 and I would also use instead the imitation crab meat as opposed to the meat in the can, it is a better taste and texture and I use more like 10 oz of it. add in 2 tsp of Old Bay seasoning and 1 tsp of hot pepper sauce and some finely minced red pepper. Pipe it out using a baggy with a cut corner onto cucumber slices to counteract the spiciness and you will have a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWHIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This recipe as listed above is not wonderful. First, there is far too much cream cheese! Follow the advice of others, and use one package. Also warming these up a bit is probably a good idea. I made these for a party with friends and it seemed as though I stuffed phyllo with cream cheese. Next time I will read other people's reviews before making something unfamilar. I may try them again, but not as listed above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I can only give this 4 stars since the recipe had to be "tweaked". I followed the advice of other posters...cutting back on the cream cheese AND warming these up in the oven. I was going to top it off with the cocktail sauce and then I forgot, but I made these for New Year's Eve and my guests LOVED them!! I will definitely make again. What a great appetizer! (next time I will remember the cocktail sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I really liked these. I followed everyone else and only used 1 package of cream cheese, but I did use a can of of shredded crab. I made them with phyllo pastries (so the sheets of the annoying dough). I cut the phyllo into squares, brush it lightly with melted butter, put a small amount in the middle, fold the four corners (almost as if you were making a pyramid) and squeeze just above the filling(the filling might break out the bottom, so try not to squeeze too close to the filling). I hope that isn't too confusing, I suggest playing with phyllo dough to find out what works for you, but make sure the dough you're not working on is covered with a damp cloth to prevent it from drying out (which happens very quickly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkestStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States