Crab Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made these for Thanksgiving and my guests loved them! These were sooo easy. I went with other recommendations to only use 1 8 oz package of cream cheese and think it was a good balance. I did heat them in the oven which brought out the flavor. I didn't care for them much (think there was too much of something...maybe the dill weed) but glad they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe was ok, but pretty uninspiring. The crab is impossible to taste, and the cream cheese and spices do nothing for taste. Edible, but not special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
A few modifications...I doubled the crab meat and skipped the cocktail sauce. Baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes and it was fantastic! The result is delicious little crab dip tarts. A huge hit at our house. Next time I may add in some spinach or chopped artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
They disappeared so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Very delicious! Only used 1 package of cream cheese as suggested by others. My husband ended up making them, so he left out the hot sauce which would have been better. Next time I'll try to heat them for 15 minutes so the dip is more bubbly. BUT, I like them the way they came, with a little sauce on top...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHONDAM10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA
Living In: La Salle, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Made these for a MMA party for several men and they gobbled these right up. Like others I made a few changes. I used an 8 oz. package of crab, reduced cream cheese to 1 1/2 packs of reduced fat, doubled the spices, and added a few dashes of hot sauce. It came out perfect and was more than enough to fill 30 shells. My hubby detests cream cheese,so was surprised he enjoyed these so much. He even saved some back for later. This recipe is definitely worth tinkering with as the combination of flavors is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very tasty. I only used a package and a half of Cream cheese, like others reviewers had suggested. I also added some old bay and a dollop of cocktail sauce to the mix. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is a great appetizer! It's a great basic recipe to add and subtract from. Like the other reviewers, the original recipe calls for too much cream cheese. 1-8oz. package is enough. I leave out the dill weed and the parsley. Then I add more garlic, pepper, Jane's Mixed-Up salt or Sazon Completa (Complete Seasoning mft'd by Badia), and to add variety - bacon bits on top. I also pop them into the oven for about 5 minutes...makes it all come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Got lots of compliments from this dish but I did revise it. Used 1pkg cream cheese and also added paprika, cayenne, old bay, and louisiana hot sauce for a kick. Also mixed a dab of cocktail sauce in the mixture. Served them hot, baked in oven for few minutes or 45 seconds in microwave. They were gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Absolutely loved these. They do not have a strong taste but that's a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States