Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Would be a five but I had to adjust it. It's not crab bisque if you use imitation crab as this recipe calls for. Made per the recipe this is Pollock bisque. Use real lumped crab for a true crab bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I liked it. I used nonfat milk. Very simple, fast to prepare. The only negative was the nutritional information; This may make five servings but they would be very small servings and that holds down the calorie count. It really make more like three servings which would raise the calorie count from 217 to 362, which still isn't bad. The recipe doesn't say what kind of milk was used in the nutritional calculations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This recipe was delicious, but I didn't follow the original recipe exactly...I used clam chowder soup, put about 1/2 milk and then 1/2 buttermilk in the mixture, I then added a dash of salt, some celery salt, and a bit of basil. I then added the rest of the ingredients as mentioned in the original recipe. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amp119

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I really didn't like this soup. The tomato soup was very overpowering. I tried adding cayenne pepper to balance the sweetness, and some other herbs but there was no saving it. I couldn't even finish my bowl. It's in the fridge now, I'll give it another try because I hate wasting food, but I am not looking forward to finishing it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlejessmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Delicious. I definitely recommend adding sauteed veggies. Overall a great easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BonAppetitBaby
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I used a can of condensed cream of celery soup and end result came out great! Glad I only used 8 oz of crab meat because I do not eat crab meat often and felt as though the crab flavor was hiding the tomato and celery flavors so I plan to use even less crab meat next time with the same amount of everything else. FYI for milk, 15 ounces = 1.8 cups. Also, before making soup I sauteed a handful of chopped red bell pepper, carrots and green onions. Thank you for a quick & tasty, versatile keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetitBaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious and so easy! A bonus that it's all ingredients I typically have in the house. Good as is or can dress it up. I sauted some celery and garlic, added some cooking sherry and tabasco. A little on the sweet side but soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I gave this recipe 5 stars after making a few changes. saute 1 sm. onion diced and 2 tbs minced garlic in tbs of butter. I used family sized soups, 1 lb of real crabmeat, 2c whole milk, 2c skim milk, 1 tbs old bay, salt and pepper to taste, 2-3 tbs parsley and basil. sooo good, gets rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Okay, so this is pretty much the opposite of a made-from-scratch bisque (which I've made before) - canned soups and not even real crab. Still, for what it is, I thought it was pretty tasty, and very easy to make. I made it exactly as written, and have one minor complaint: a whole bunch of green onions is way too much, in my opinion - half that amount would suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is a very simple and quick recipe but it needs some additional things to give it some taste. I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. (It gave the soup a nice consistency.) Then I added two cloves of garlic, one small onion, some fresh red peppers - just a few small pieces, a can of corn, a drop of Worecestershire sauce, a dash of basil, two tbs of Old Bay Seasoning, fresh ground pepper, and just a dash of celery salt. Season to taste. I cooked on medium heat until it started to bubble, then I let is simmer for about 20 minutes. It turned out delicious! It's a keeper if you add the extras. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States