Crab and Shrimp Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Delicious with a few of the changes other reviewers noted: about 1 3/4 c. milk, 3/4 c. mayonnaise, Old Bay, garlic powder and freshly ground pepper. I didn't have shrimp on hand (usually do), but I did happen to have a whole pound of crab meat, so I used that. I also used orzo rather than angel hair, and while it was good, I wasn't satisfied with the texture - too much 'small' stuff! I think it would've seemed like a more substantial casserole with shrimp and larger pasta to contrast with the crab. I also left off the fried onions. I wonder if it would taste good with some spinach to break up the monochromatic look - it was all one color! Otherwise, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Good recipe with the inclusion of Old Bay seasoning.The previous reviewer who used a can of lobster bisque soup to sub for the cream of shrimp soup must not have used any milk. I used lobster bisque and 1.5 C milk and the end product was very loose and liquidy. Good base for a recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
The first time I made this I knew that it was a keeper. It's and easy recipe yet so gourmet. Great to make when having company. Also, love to have it as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Anne Banks Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Great base recipe with lots of options! We had just cracked 3 dozen blue crabs (cooked Maryland style), so we used that and large peeled uncooked shrimp. I marinated the meat in Old bay, dry mustard & parsley (about 1T each), replaced the cream of shrimp soup with 1/2 can cream of celery & 1/2 can cream of mushroom. 2 cups of milk and 1/2 cup of mayo, plus 1/2 cup of water. Folded all that into the dish and sprinkled 1/2 cheddar 1/2 monterey jack. After 35 sprinkle on top crushed doritos (it works!) and then broil for 10 mins to brown the top better. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
My hubby made this tonight. He used rice noodles instead of angel hair, cream of celery soup instead of cream of shrimp, and cream cheese and ricotta instead of mayonnaise. We all liked it pretty well. I think a milder cheese would work better on top, like a montery jack. We used sharp cheddar, and it was pretty strong. This was cery easy to make, though, and we did enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I didn't add the french onions, and I used less shredded cheese on top. I also substituted elbow macaroni noodles for the angel hair pasta. The end result was pretty good, but the flavor wasn't extraordinary. I'm going to make it again, however next time I'm going to try cream cheese instead of the mayo (which you can taste, and I didn't like that) and I recommend using spices like Old Bay to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Sutherly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Great recipe. I did a few changes. I used large frozen shrimp in place of salad shrimp. I did not use crab meat or the cream of shrimp soup. I used cream of mushroom soup & also added mushrooms & yellow squash. I used spaghetti & cooked it first before adding it to the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good. I took the advice of other reviewers and left off the onions, and added Old Bay, garlic, and pepper. I used thin spaghetti instead of angel hair, increased the milk to 2c., and it came out great, the pasta cooked completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
We are from the shore of Maryland so seafood is what we do. The taste was so off and had a "fishy" taste. I would never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
We've been making this recipe on and off for a couple of years now. We really love it! It's wonderfully rich and delicious with garlic bread. We've used cream of mushroom or chicken soup if we can't find the cream of shrimp. It works just fine that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States