Crab and Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
To tell you the truth, I don't know what made me decide to make this since I really didn't think it would be all that special - but it was. There was pasta salad and potato salad left over and I wanted something just a little lighter for a side dish with tonight's dinner - this was *supposed* to be for me, and Hubs was going to have the pasta and potato salad. I asked him to have a taste of this and he remarked that as far as he was concerned, he didn't need anything else with our barbecued ribs! Just a few simple ingredients, but all the flavors and textures complement each other so well! I don't care for imitation crab meat so I used fresh Alaskan King Crab, which really took this over the top. Pretty, delicious, crab, bacon. I rest my case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I threw this receipe together quickly as a way to use up some crab meat (I had purchased twice as much as I needed for a different recipe). I served in on the side wasn't sure if anyone would even eat it. It ended up being the most popular dish of the night, and I was printing off copies of the recipe for everyone. Very simple and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was soooo good! And it's so easy and quick to put together. I didn't change a thing. When my hubby got home he found this bowl in the fridge and started to devour it! Well, it ruined his dinner but he sure did like this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I thought this was an "odd" combimation of ingredients, but because of all the five-star ratings I decided to make it for a potluck last night. Hubby was concerned about eating "raw" peas but I persevered and made the recipe to the letter. Let me tell you..... It was a big hit. There was one little spoonful of salad left in the bowl while the potato salads were passed over. And guess what? Hubby said it was delicious. This is a keeper and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Excellent !! Fast easy and tasty !! I put it on a bed of shredded lettuce with some chedder cheese grated on top. Delicious. Will use fresh dungeous crab when in season. I think you could probably do it with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Easy and delicious. I'm going to make it again for a potluck get-together Saturday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I forced myself to stick to the recipe and not add or change it. I doubled it for a carry-in and it came out nicely and is pretty. I'm the only one in my family who eats green peas, so I ended up eating leftovers and I think I will add less peas next time. Even for me it seemed like too many peas per bite. I think the idea of croutons or celery--a little more crunch--would be perfect. The bacon is a great addition and adds good flavor. Having said that, this probably has a high sodium count because I drank TONS of water about an hour after I ate this. Overall I really liked it and it is quick to make and is nice for a buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYKENNEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This recipe was ok. I can only give it three stars because of the imitation crab. We were not crazy about the taste. I made the mistake of thinking that the other ingredients would disguise the imitation flavor but it didn't. I may try it again but with real crab. I think using real crab would make it a 4, even 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was fast, easy and delicious! I didn't have onion powder when I made it, so I substituted about two tablespoons of minced shallot instead. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERKY2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I'm sure this recipe as written would be just fine substituting the imitation crab meat with "Real" crab meat. After a taste test both my husband and I felt this recipe was too bland and needed something more to disguise the imitation crab taste and overwhelming peas in every bite. So, I added in some chopped sweet onions, minced green bell pepper (celery would have been good also, but didn't I didn't have any). I also gave a couple shakes of some Old Bay spice, and the additions really did help out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States