Crab and Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I thought this was great. We had lump crab from Trader Joes (the canned kind) and decided to use it for this salad. The only difference I made was to add 1.5 tsp more of the chili powder and more lemon juice, about 1 T more. You can adjust the dressing to your taste while keeping the mayo amount the same. We loved this! Made it twice. Oh and on one occasion, we added a little bit of corn kernals. Another great addition is to add some Old Bay Seasoning. My husband preferred it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I loved the idea of the "Crab Louis" style of this and looked forward to this twist with the orzo. Unfortunately, I was let down. While this was edibible, it certainly wasn't memorable. I tasted too much of the peppers and not enough of the dressing. Overall, the salad was rather nondescript, not exactly bursting with flavor, though it IS pretty and colorful. I used fresh lump crab meat and, since it is expensive, regret that I used it in a dish that was "just okay."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is a tasty and refreshing salad. Easy to prepare and delicious. When I make this again, I will use slightly less green onion and I will add a pinch of Old Bay seasoning. It is great as is, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
A great idea but a little too "crabby" for my taste. If you like a seafood "cocktail" kind of taste, this one's for you. Might be better served over fresh greens, maybe with some cold boiled shrimp and sliced tomatoes on the side?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I left out the carrots. It turned out great. It would look real nice for a Christmas buffet, and it's tastie !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Delicious and refreshing and I used the imitation crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, except I added a teaspoon of chipotle seasoning that gave it a good kick. it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious! We made this, almost exactly following the recipe. Rather than use real crab, we decided to opt for imitation because we personally like the flavor more. Also, we used Sriracha, about a full tablespoon, and omitted salt. Even my 3 year old, who hates fish, absolutely loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States