Crab and Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is one of our family's favorite hors d'oerves for gatherings. Then they stand around an skarf the stuff on to crackers or celery, making pigs of themselves. I used to make this in layers, but mixing the cream cheese with the lemon and onions, then adding in the drained and rinsed crab (doesn't have to be the best lump crab, but real crab is important) makes the best combo. I finely chop a little sweet vidalia onion and/or chives as it really needs that little something. I put it in a midsize souffle dish and mound it in a half ball and pour just enough cocktail sauce to cover, but not drown it, not quite a small bottle. Add a little parsley or chives on top or around it and you have a Christmas Dip! You will never have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Way too much cocktail sause, it completely over powers the flavor of anything else. Not enough crab. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Well, I admit that I messed up and just put some of the cocktail sauce IN the recipe - but overall it's a good, easy, basic crab dip. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I just noticed now that you are supposed to put the cocktail sauce on top of the spread. Well, I mixed it right in with everything else and it turned out great. I suggest mixing all the ingredients except the crab (which I fold in at the end) with an electric hand mixer, it gives a nice whipped texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Since I love crab meat, I doubled the amount of meat and skipped the cocktail sauce. I would recommend using lump crab meat or the fake crab meat. I mixed everything in the food processor, and it was too creamy. It was still good, but it needed some texture. * 2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened * 1 tablespoon lemon juice * 1 teaspoon hot pepper sauce * 2 green onions, finely chopped * 1 (6 ounce) can crabmeat, drained and flaked * 1 (8 ounce) jar cocktail sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I served this at a family gathering and everyone loved it. Even my "tell me what's in it first" husband loved it and is eating the few bites left over today. I added extra lemon juice, and next time I'll add more hot sauce. I used Rachel's Wasabi Cocktail Sauce, from this website. I think this would be equally good with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Oh my Gawd! This is absolutely wonderful. I'll admit I was skeptic with the hot sauce but it's wonderful. You just want to keep eating it. Great aftertaste. I would advise you not to make this too far in advance of it's serving because you'll eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DELANIA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Not exactly what I was looking for. I added some shredded cheddar to increase the cheese flavor, but it just didn't do it for me. Not a big hit at the party I took it to, though some people did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Great combination - I did plus up the tabasco sauce though to 1 Tablespoon and used the green tabasco sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fowler, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
I halved the recipe and used a little less lemon juice. I thought it was very good and we used it with crackers and sourdough bread. I thought it needed just a little something extra so next time I'll experiment with either some garlic salt or a hotter hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States